Stanford Faculty

Marty Grove
Marty Grove serves as the Stanford's Co-Director of the joint USGS-Stanford SHRIMP-RG ion microprobe laboratory and oversees all thermochronology laboratories. Grove is leading a new School of Earth Sciences initiative to develop state-of-the-art thermochronology capabilities at Stanford. This includes development of a new, fully automated argon extraction line for our existing MAP216 mass spectrometer and construction of a new extraction line for a Nu Noblesse mass spectrometer that was delivered and commissioned in 2009 for 40Ar/39Ar and (U-Th)/He thermochronology. Grove also leads efforts to develop laser ablation, multicollector, ICP-MS capabilities at Stanford.

Kate Maher

Assistant Professor Kate Maher is leading a major School of Earth Sciences initiative to construct a new ICP-MS Laboratory featuring a Nu Plasma 1700 multicollector ICP-MS instrument, a Nu single collector high resolution ICP-MS machine, and a state-of-the-art clean room complex for isotopic, geochemical, and geochronologic applications.

George Hilley
Assistant Professor
George Hilley directs the Cosmogenic Radionuclide Facility. This facility specializes in dating near surface erosional processes and landform development.


USGS Scientists

Charlie Bacon

Dr. Charlie Bacon serves as the USGS Co-Director of the USGS-Stanford SHRIMP-RG ion microprobe laboratory.

Jorge Vazquez

Dr. Jorge Vazquez serves as USGS Staff Scientist in the SHRIMP-RG ion microprobe laboratory.

Brad Ito

Brad Ito is the electronics wizard who keeps the heinously complex innards of the SHRIMP-RG and other instruments humming.


Research Scientists

Joe Wooden
Joe Wooden serves as Senior Staff Scientist for the joint SHRIMP-RG laboratory and specializes in all aspects of geochronologic, isotopic, and petrologic applications and technique development with this instrument.

Trevor Dumitru
Trevor Dumitru directs the Fission Track Thermochronology Laboratory. This facility specializes in thermochronologic analysis of tectonic, structural, and sedimentary processes within the upper 2-10 km of the Earth's crust, generally in conjuction with (U-Th)/He analyses. He also directs our shared facilities for sample preparation.

Caroline Harris
Dr. Caroline Harris manages the new  ICP-MS Laboratory.


Postdoctoral Fellows

Emily Peterman
Dr. Emily Peterman is working on development of coupled (U-Th)/(Pb-He) chronology for monazite with application to tectonic processes in Death Valley, California, the Western Gneiss Region, Norway, Baja California, and the Sierra Pampeanas, Argentina.


Collaborating Local Geochronology Research Groups

We collaborate with many Stanford research groups and outside scientists.

Professors Steve Graham, Don Lowe, Jim Ingle, and Jonathan Payne direct programs in sedimentology, stratigraphy, and paleontology that frequently involve geochronologic research.

Professors Elizabeth Miller, Gary Ernst, Gail Mahood, Jessica Warren, and J.G. Liou direct programs in structural geology, tectonics, petrology, and volcanology the frequently involve geochronologic research.


We enjoy close collaborations with Jeremy Hourigan's U-Th-He Laboratory at UC-Santa Cruz.


We enjoy close collaborations with the 40Ar/39Ar Laboratory at the USGS-Menlo Park.