Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Departments & Programs


Honors & Awards

Jared Thompson wins Environmental Law Award
Submitted on

Joint MS alum Jared Thompson was awarded the Olaus and Adolph Murie Award for Environmental Law from Stanford Law School for his capstone paper on water pollution.

Lauren Oakes wins Climate Change Fellowship
Submitted on

PhD student Lauren Oakes was awarded the George Melendez Wright Climate Change Fellowship.

PhD Student Austin Becker wins a Gerald J. Leiberman Fellowship
Submitted on

The Lieberman fellowship is awarded to a doctoral student whose research accomplishments, teaching, and university service has demonstrated the potential for becoming an academic leader.

PhD Student Robert Heilmayr is awarded an NSF Fellowship
Submitted on

Robert Heilmayr wins a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

Professor Gretchen Daily to receive 2010 Heinz Award for environmental achievement
Submitted on

Gretchen Daily, a professor of biology and senior fellow at Stanford's Woods Institute for the Environment, has been named one of 10 recipients of the 2010 Heinz Awards.

Professor Peter Vitousek wins Japan Prize
Submitted on

Peter Vitousek has won the 2010 Japan Prize for his pioneering work in the field of biogeochemistry.

Page Chamberlain, Steve Gorelick, and Kate Maher are among the recipients of the Woods Institute's Environmental Venture Projects Awards
Submitted on

The Woods Institute for the Environment has awarded four new Environmental Venture Projects (EVP) grants for interdisciplinary research aimed at finding practical solutions promoting global sustainability.

E-IPER student Mehana Vaughan selected as a 2009 Switzer Environmental Fellow
Submitted on

The Switzer Fellowship Network consists of the 470 current and past Fellows located around the country and throughout the world. Fellows are working across a broad spectrum of environmental issues and in a diversity of settings from local grassroots groups to Capitol Hill.

Gretchen Daily wins $420,000 award for finding ways to save biodiversity
Submitted on

Gretchen Daily, Stanford professor of biology, has won the International Cosmos Prize, awarded by the Expo ’90 Foundation in Japan.

Kevin Arrigo and Margot Gerritsen were named as Leopold Leadership Fellows
Submitted on

Nineteen environmental researchers from across North America have been awarded Leopold Leadership Fellowships for 2009.