Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Departments & Programs


Culture and Institutions

This focal area encompasses the social sciences and humanities, including anthropology, communications, decision sciences, history, law, political science, psychology, and sociology. At least two courses are required. Students may choose a course not listed below provided it meets the criteria for this focal area's subject knowledge. Students are advised to seek approval from their lead advisers in advance and are required to obtain their advisers' signatures on the Breadth Certification Form as verification that they have met this requirement.