Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
P
R
S
T
V
W
Y
Z
Name Title Current Research Contact
Hedy Maria Aardema University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate haardema@stanford.edu
Ahmad Sami Abushaikha Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering aabushai@stanford.edu
Anders Ahlström Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science aahl@stanford.edu
Caroline Alden Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science calden@stanford.edu
Felipe Aron Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences felipearon@stanford.edu
George Azzari Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science gazzari@stanford.edu
Aviv Bachan Dovrat Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences avivbd@stanford.edu
Amy Banta Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science banta@stanford.edu
Ahmad Ali Behroozmand Postdoctoral Scholar 397 Panama Mall, Room 309
abehrooz@stanford.edu
Shelley Bench Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science sbench@stanford.edu
Noelle Christiane Boucquey Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science boucquey@stanford.edu
Pierre Boué Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics pboue@stanford.edu
Kristin Boye Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science

My research focuses on processes in the interface between soil and plant roots. I use a multiple method approach to determine the relative importance of biogeochemical mechanisms known to influence the mobility and plant uptake of contaminants and nutrients in agricultural soils. I work across different scales and combine advanced micro profiling and mapping techniques with bulk analyses. My current focus area is on arsenic mobilization in the paddy soil environment.

kboye@stanford.edu
Vladislav Bukshtynov Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering

Gradient-based optimization using Stanford Automatic Differentiation-based General Purpose Research Simulator (AD-GPRS)

bukshtu@stanford.edu
Jose Ivan Carabante Martinez Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science ivacar@stanford.edu
Nicola Castelletto Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering ncastell@stanford.edu
Kyung Won Chang Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics k1chang@stanford.edu
Sergey Chaynikov Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering sergeyc@stanford.edu
Albert Chen Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics acchen@stanford.edu
Jingyi Chen Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics jingyi@stanford.edu
Sylvain Coutu Post Doctoral Scholar
Charles-Francois de Lannoy Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering delannoy@stanford.edu
David Dempsey Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics dempsey7@stanford.edu
Jennifer Druhan Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences jdruhan@stanford.edu
Gabrielle Dublet Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences (650) 723-9168
gdublet@stanford.edu
Christophe Duchateau Basic Life Science Research Associate, Energy Resources Engineering

I actually work on gas flow through a tight rock and on wrapping up a study on microfluidic transitions.
The gas part aims at modeling experiments conducted by a colleague for shale gas exploitation.
The purpose of the microfluidic study is to improve the comprehension of fundamental microfluidics by means of experiments, in order to use them in petroleum engineering and other related fields of study.

Kenneth Duru Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics Mitchell 367
kduru@stanford.edu
Laura Erban Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science lerban@stanford.edu
Madeleine Flint Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science

My research brings together the disciplines of structural engineering, climate science, hydrology and environmental fluid mechanics to study the impact of climate change on infrastructure vulnerability with a focus on scour, which is the primary cause of highway bridge failure in the United States. Climate change is expected to increase the vulnerability of our built infrastructure to scour; this research will identify regions with greatest increased risk to prioritize infrastructure renewal.

Y2E2
flint@stanford.edu
Charlotte Garing Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineer Green Earth Sciences 069
cgaring@stanford.edu
Yves Gensterblum Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics Petrophysical and geophysical aspect of unconventional natural gas reservoirs. (650) 724-2974
genster@stanford.edu
Nicolas Julien Grisouard Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science
Kaiyu Guan Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science kaiyug@stanford.edu
Hossein Hashemi Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics Mitchell Building (3rd Floor), Room: 367
(650) 723 3120
hashemih@stanford.edu
Ferdinand Hingerl Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering hingerl@stanford.edu
Daniel Horton Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science

My research utilizes numerical climate modeling techniques in conjunction with observational records to study Earth’s climate system across multiple temporal scales in both the geologic past and the anthropogenic future. My interests are diverse and span the evolution of Earth’s climate system through geologic time, as well as the near-term climatic, societal, and health impacts of anthropogenic climate change.

danethan@stanford.edu
Yihe Huang Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics yihe@stanford.edu
Yadira Ibarra Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science yibarra@stanford.edu
Meha Jain Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science mehajain@stanford.edu
Adam Jew Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences adamjew@stanford.edu
Kathryn Johnson Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences larsonk@stanford.edu
Morris Jones Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science mejones@stanford.edu
Mary Kang Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science cmkang@stanford.edu
Marco Keiluweit Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science Green Earth Science Building RM321
keilu@stanford.edu
Naresh Kumar Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences nareshk@stanford.edu
Yann le Polain de Waroux Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science lepolain@stanford.edu
Juan Lezama Pacheco Phys Sci Res Assoc, Earth System Science jlezama@stanford.edu
Qinzhuo Liao Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering Computational methods for dynamic prediction of subsurface flow and transport qliao@stanford.edu
Yu Lin Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences lyforest@stanford.edu
Yuwei Liu Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science yuweiliu@stanford.edu
Julian Lozos Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics

I use computer modeling to investigate how complexity of fault geometry, stress state, and frictional properties affect the physics of earthquake rupture and ground motion generation. I am particularly interested in how rupture negotiates junctions and discontinuities between faults, as well as in whether faults that exhibit aseismic creep can rupture coseismically. My current work is focused on examples in the San Andreas fault system in California.

jlozos@stanford.edu
Christine Maier Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering chrmaier@stanford.edu
Yashar Mehmani Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering (512) 293-2840
ymehmani@stanford.edu
Laura Meredith Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science (650) 724-8957
predawn@stanford.edu
Nori Nakata Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics nnakata@stanford.edu
Matthew Nelsen Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences mpnelsen@stanford.edu
Johanna Nevitt Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological and Environmental Sciences Mitchell B-09
jmnevitt@stanford.edu
Christoph Nolte Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science (734) 747-0305
chrnolte@stanford.edu
Matias Klas Nordin Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics 650-724-2974
mnordin@stanford.edu
Julie Cherrie Padowski Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science
Matthew Pellow Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering Energy systems analysis to identify technology options for low-carbon fuels. Global Climate and Energy Project
(650) 725-8579
mpellow@stanford.edu
Peter Psarras Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering ppsarras@stanford.edu
Avinoam Rabinovich Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering avinoamr@stanford.edu
Kazi Rahman Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science krahman@stanford.edu
Wasiu Raji Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics woraji@stanford.edu
Deepthi Rajsekhar Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science draj86@stanford.edu
Sujith Ravi Post Doctoral Scholar
Sophie Roman Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering

My current research focused on the experimental study of transient, unstable immiscible flow in micromodels.

sroman@stanford.edu
Ankur Roy Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering

I am primarily interested in the modeling and analysis of multi-dimensional and multi-scale fracture data using various techniques that range from deterministic Discrete Fracture Network (DFN) models to Fractals and Multi-point geostatistics (MPS). Currently, my research revolves around evaluating uncertainty in fractured reservoirs. I am funded through SCRF and work on a BP-sponsored project that involves building a benchmark synthetic fractured reservoir data set.

Green 123
(650) 725-0801
royankur@stanford.edu
Regina Angelina Sanderson Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science anges@stanford.edu
Cyprien Soulaine Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering csoulain@stanford.edu
Douglas Sparks Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science dksparks@stanford.edu
Anna Suzuki Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering anna3@stanford.edu
Kirill Terekhov Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering terekhov@stanford.edu
Amanda Thomas Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics athomas7@stanford.edu
Matt Anthony Thomas University Student Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences Graduate tmatthew@stanford.edu
Bradley Tolar Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science btolar1@stanford.edu
Ping Tong Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics tongping@stanford.edu
Kourosh Vafi Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering vafi@stanford.edu
Jagruti Vedamati Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science vedamati@stanford.edu
Monika Verma Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science
Wei Wu Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics wei14@stanford.edu
Samantha Ying Postdoctoral Scholar, Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment
Zhirui Zeng Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science zrzeng@stanford.edu
Hua Zhang Post Doctoral Scholar