Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
C
E
F
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
P
R
S
T
Name Title Current Research Contact
Atilla Aydin Professor (Research) of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

Formation, geometric patterns and fluid flow properties of fractures and faults in a broad range of scales.

MITCHELL BLDG RM 361
(650) 725-8708
aydin@stanford.edu
Khalid Aziz Otto N. Miller Professor in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences, Emeritus Numerical reservoir simulation and optimization. Multiphase flow in pipes. 68 Green Earth Scien
(650)723-9116
aziz@stanford.edu
Jon Claerbout Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Professor of Geophysics, Emeritus Reflection Seismology Geophysics Dept 2215
claerbout@stanford.edu
Marco Einaudi Welton Joseph and Maud L'Anphere Crook Professor of Applied Earth Sciences, Emeritus

Ore deposits and exploration; geology and geochemistry of hydrothermal mineral deposits

GREEN EARTH SCI 239
(650) 723-0847
MARCO@PANGEA.stanford.edu
W Gary Ernst The Benjamin M. Page Professor In Earth Sciences, Emeritus

Petrology/geochemistry and plate tectonics of Circumpacific and Alpine mobile belts; ultrahigh-pressure metamorphism in Eurasia; geology of the California Coast Ranges, the cental Klamath Mountains, and White-Inyo Range; geobotany and remote sensing of the Southwest; mineralogy and human health.

Mitchell Bldg room B53
(650) 723-0185
wernst@stanford.edu
Antony Fraser-Smith Professor (Research) of Electrical Engineering and of Geophysics, Emeritus PACKARD BLDG. #358
(650) 723-3684
acfs@stanford.edu
John W Harbaugh Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences and of Energy Resources Engineering, Emeritus

Mathematical modeling of dynamic systems, sedimentary basin simulation, oil exploration risk analysis

Mitchell B 03
(650) 723-0847, (650) 723-3365
john.harbaugh@stanford.edu
Thomas Hewett Professor of Energy Resources Engineering, Emeritus (650) 723-9476
HEWETT@PANGEA.stanford.edu
James Ingle The W. M. Keck Professor of Earth Sciences, Emeritus

Current research interests include the Neogene stratigraphy, paleoceanography, and depositional history of marine basins and continental margins of the Pacific Ocean with a focus on the California borderland and Gulf of California. Other interests involve study of marine diatomaceous sediments, the sedimentary record of the oxygen minimum zone, and application of benthic and planktonic foraminifera to questions surrounding the history of the global ocean and climate change.

Mitchell Bldg, Rm B01
(650) 723-3366
jim.ingle@stanford.edu
Andre Journel The Donald and Donald M. Steel Professor of Earth Sciences, Emeritus

Non-parametric, non-Gaussian Geostatistics, Stochastic Simulation, Training image-based simulation

GREEN EARTH SCI 339
(650) 723-8469
journel@stanford.edu
Robert Kovach Professor of Geophysics, Emeritus Earthquake seismology, natural hazards, and ancient earthquakes and archaeology MITCHELL 317
(650) 723-4827
kov@stanford.edu
Juhn Liou Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

Petrochemical processes and tectonics of ultrahigh-pressure metamorphic terranes

MITCHELL EARTH SCI B-53
(650) 723-2716
jliou@stanford.edu
Ronald Lyon Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Emeritus Geological & Environmental Sciences Dept
lyon@stanford.edu
Michael McWilliams Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

Tectonics, geochronology, thermochronology. Director, Stanford-USGS Ion Microprobe Laboratory

mcwilliams@stanford.edu
J. Moldowan Professor (Research) of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

Organic geochemistry; study of molecular fossils (biomarkers) and their use in petroleum system analysis, reservoir characterization, environmental monitoring, molecular paleontology, global change. Studies of biodegradation and thermal cracking of petroleum by deep burial or catalytic alteration in deep-seated reservoirs.

GREEN EARTH SC 201
(650) 723-0847
moldowan@stanford.edu
Amos Nur Wayne Loel Professor of Earth Sciences, Emeritus Rock physics, tectonophysics, fossil energy exploration, earthquake archaeology Geophysics Department
(650) 723-0839
Amos.Nur@stanford.edu
George Parks Donald and Donald M. Steel Professor in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences, Emeritus gparks@stanford.edu
Joan Roughgarden Professor, Biology 5241 Wili Rd
Joan.Roughgarden@stanford.edu
Paul Switzer Professor of Statistics and of Environmental Earth System Science, Emeritus Sequoia 226
(650) 723-2879
switzer@stanford.edu
George Thompson Otto N. Miller Professor of Earth Sciences and Dean of the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences, Emeritus Basin and Range Tectonics, Reflection Seismology, Gravity MITCHELL BLDG 325
(650) 723-3714
gathomps@stanford.edu