Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
Name Title Current Research Contact
Amir Salehi Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-7086
amsalehi@stanford.edu
Jennifer Saltzman Director of Outreach Education Mitchell Bldg, room 132
650-725-2410
saltzman@stanford.edu
Aubrey Sanders Joint MS-MBA student asander2@stanford.edu
Regina Angelina Sanderson Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science anges@stanford.edu
Anne Sanquini Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences sanquini@stanford.edu
Robert Sapolsky John A. and Cynthia Fry Gunn Professor and Professor of Neurology and of Neurosurgery Neuron death, stress, gene therapy GILBERT HALL
(650) 723-2649
sapolsky@stanford.edu
Robert Martin Sare GES Graduate Student rmsare@stanford.edu
Nicole Marie Sarto Students - Graduate
Aaditya Satija Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering addy@stanford.edu
Debra Satz Senior Associate Dean for the Humanities and Arts, The Marta Sutton Weeks Professor of Ethics in Society and Professor, by courtesy, of Political Science

I am currently working on two main projects.  The first project concerns the basis for and nature of the state's obligation to provide an education to its citizens.  The second project concerns the relationship between markets and social equality.  I am especially interested in the ways that markets can support, but also undermine, the relationship between citizens as equal members of a democratic society.

BLDG. 1, room 109
(650) 723-2133, (650) 723-2547
dsatz@stanford.edu
Nikhil Sawe Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Through functional MRI, neuroeconomics analyzes the financial decision-making process at the level of discrete brain structures, allowing insights into the way we think about and route information. Nik's research adapts neuroeconomics techniques to assess decision-making in environmental questions.

sawe@stanford.edu
Nishank Saxena Ph.D. Student in Geophysics nishank@stanford.edu
Sarah Saya University Staff Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences - Geological and Environmental Sciences Research and Finance Administrator Green Earth Sciences, Room 205
(650) 724-5521
ssaya@stanford.edu
Michael Schaefer Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science Green Earth Sciences 321
mvschaef@stanford.edu
Celine Scheidt Sr Research Engineer, Energy Resources Engineering scheidtc@stanford.edu
Allegra Hosford Scheirer Phys Sci Res Assoc, Geological and Environmental Sciences allegras@stanford.edu
Martin Scherer Research Staff
Stuart Victor Schmitt Ph.D. Student in Geophysics stuart@stuartschmitt.com
Gary Schoolnik Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Emeritus

Structure-function analysis of bacterial adhesion proteins and toxins; design and synthesis of synthetic antigens; immunobiology of human papillomaviruses

Beckman B241
(650) 723-8158
schoolni@cmgm.stanford.edu
Brandon Michael Schow University Student Department of Geophysics Undergraduate bmschow@stanford.edu
Lauren Schultz Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences laurenes@stanford.edu
Theresa Schwartz Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences theresas@stanford.edu
W Scott Professor of Sociology, Emeritus

He is an organizational sociologist who has concentrated his work on the study of professional organizations, including educational, engineering, medical, research, social welfare, and medical systems.

Bldg. 120 Room 236
(650) 723-3956, (650) 723-3959
scottwr@stanford.edu
Richard Sears Consulting Professor, Energy Resources Engineering Green Earth Sciences 023
rasears@stanford.edu
Kevin Seats Ph.D. Student in Geophysics kseats@stanford.edu
Paul Segall Professor of Geophysics MITCHELL 301
(650) 725-7241
segall@stanford.edu
Chris Alfons Seifert University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate cseifert@stanford.edu
Gus Behr Seixas Students - Graduate seixas@stanford.edu
Ginny Carrie Selz University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate vselz@stanford.edu
Amrita Sen Ph.D. Student in Geophysics asen1@stanford.edu
Elena Serrano Administrative Associate, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Administration/Finance 397 Panama Mall
(650) 721-1101
elena917@stanford.edu
Solomon Seyum Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences solomons@stanford.edu
Kenneth Sharp Senior Web Developer Mitchel B03
(650) 721-6406
ksharp@stanford.edu
Xukai Shen Ph.D. Student in Geophysics xkshen85@stanford.edu
Yi Shen Ph.D. Student in Geophysics yishen@stanford.edu
Yixiao Sheng University Student Department of Geophysics Graduate yixiao2@stanford.edu
Yingxia Shi University Student Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences Graduate (650) 485-9141
yingxias@stanford.edu
Yongduk Shin Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I am interested on investigating the effects of geological uncertainty on reservoir responses on both production and seismic responses. the geological uncertainty specifically investigating are uncertainty on how the structure has been deformed, and how the mode of rock accommodation on given deformation. Geomodels created from properly chosen set of geological scenario may give a better understand on how the reservoir may behave.

ydshin@stanford.edu
(Danielle) Ziva Shulaker Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences zivas@stanford.edu
Lauren Shumaker Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences

I am currently working on three projects in New Zealand: using 3D seismic data to document the evolution of submarine gullies on the Pliocene-Pleistocene continental slope; detailed outcrop analysis and petrography to investigate sedimentation of a volcaniclastic submarine fan system in Late Miocene time; and detrital zircon U-Pb dating in Miocene-Pliocene basin strata to constrain sediment sources and flow pathways across the North Island during development of the modern tectonic regime.

Braun 322
shumaker@stanford.edu
Zachary Sickmann Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences zsickman@stanford.edu
Anne Siders Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Siders' research focuses on climate change adaptation and risk mitigation in coastal areas. She is particularly interested in the planning process, information sources and exchange, and evaluation mechanisms that assess the success of adaptation measures and efforts to build resiliency.

siders@stanford.edu
Natalie Elizabeth Sievers Masters Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences Metamorphic Petrology and Geochemistry Green Earth Sciences 231
240-593-6258
nsievers@stanford.edu
Itamar Simonson University Faculty Graduate School of Business - Faculty Professor

Itamar Simonson’s research includes consumer decision making, buyer behavior, consumer evaluation of brands and promotional offers, marketing management, and survey methods. Some of Simonson’s studies demonstrate a variety of seemingly irrelevant and irrational influences on consumers' decisions. These studies introduce a new perspective on consumer behavior and suggest more effective approaches to the design of market research investigations and marketing strategies.

Knight Center
(650) 725-8981
itamars@stanford.edu
Timothy Singer Dual MS-MD student tgsinger@stanford.edu
Deepti Singh Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science singhd@stanford.edu
Eva Sinha Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science esinha@stanford.edu
Deborah Ann Sivas University Faculty Law School Professor-Teaching

 Her current research is focused on the interaction of law and science in the arena of climate change and coastal/marine policy and the ability of the public to hold policymakers accountable.

Environmental Law Clinic
dsivas@stanford.edu
Chris Bryan Skinner Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science
Whitney Skinner Joint MS-MBA student (650) 422-4619
wdskinne@stanford.edu
Norman Sleep Professor of Geophysics

Physics of large-scale processes in the Earth

373A MITCHELL BLDG
(650) 723-0882, (650) 723-4746
NORM@stanford.edu
Casey Morgan Smith University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate cmsmith9@stanford.edu
Ryan Glen Smith Ph.D. Student in Geophysics rgsmith@stanford.edu
Michael Joseph Sojka University Student School of Engineering Undergraduate msojka@stanford.edu
George Somero David and Lucile Packard Professor in Marine Science, Emeritus

We examine two aspects of organism-environment interactions: How does stress from physical (e.g., temperature) and chemical (oxygen levels, pH) factors perturb organisms and how do organisms respond, adaptively, to cope with this stress? We examine evolutionary adaptation and phenotypic acclimatization using a wide variety of marine animals, including Antarctic fishes and invertebrates from intertidal habitats on the coastlines of temperate and tropical seas.

Hopkins Marine Station
(831) 655-6238
somero@stanford.edu
Wen Song Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering wensong@stanford.edu
Cyprien Soulaine Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering csoulain@stanford.edu
Sarah A Soule University Faculty Graduate School of Business - Faculty Professor

Her research examines state and organizational-level policy change and diffusion, and the role social movements have on these processes.

Faculty West Building W244
soule@stanford.edu
Douglas Sparks Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science dksparks@stanford.edu
Charles Sprenger Assistant Professor of Economics

Experimental tests of risk and time preferences and their predictive validity.

cspreng@stanford.edu
Nattavadee Srisutthiyakorn Ph.D. Student in Geophysics natts@stanford.edu
Elena Claire Stamatakos Students - Undergraduate elenas55@stanford.edu
Rose Stanley Joint MS-JD student rcstan@stanford.edu
Jonathan Stebbins Professor of Geological Sciences and, by courtesy, of Materials Science and Engineering GREEN EARTH SCI 259
(650) 723-1140
STEBBINS@stanford.edu
Stephen J. Stedman University Faculty FSI Senior Fellow

international organizations and global security; civil wars; mediation; conflict prevention; peacekeeping

Encina Hall, 2nd floor
(650) 725-2705
sstedman@stanford.edu
Jan Dominik Stepinski University Student Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering (ICME) Graduate jstep@stanford.edu
Andy Stock Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Andy studies marine conservation ecology and the role of ecological theories and models in environmental policy. His work focuses on the California coast.

astock@stanford.edu
Aiga Stokenberga Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Aiga's research combines concepts and methods from land use and transportation economics, urban sociology, and urban design in an effort to understand the environmental, social, and economic sustainability implications of urban planning interventions targeting low-income populations.

astoken1@stanford.edu
Sabra Stoner Associate Director, Development, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Development/External Relations 397 Panama Mall
sabras@stanford.edu
Eric Stoutenburg Lecturer, Energy Resources Engineering estout@stanford.edu
Christin Strandli Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering strandli@stanford.edu
Aaron Strong Ph.D. Candidate in Environment and Resources

Aaron studies feedbacks of the carbon cycle to global change factors, and the policies for operationalizing biogeochemical ecosystem services (such as carbon sequestration and nitrogen cycling) in environmental management frameworks.

Y2E2 226
alstrong@stanford.edu
Jason Wayne Stuckey Students - Graduate
Christine Su Joint MS-MBA student sueyness@stanford.edu
Jenny Suckale Assistant Professor of Geophysics Mitchell 363
(650) 497-6456
jsuckale@stanford.edu
Maureen P. Sullivan Administrative Staff Maureen.Sullivan@stanford.edu
Joanna Sun Student Services Manager, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering Green Earth Sciences, Rm 97
joannac@stanford.edu
Wenyue Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering wenyue@stanford.edu
Yuchi Sun Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering yuchi@stanford.edu
Krongrath Suwannasri University Student Department of Geophysics Graduate krath@stanford.edu
Anna Suzuki Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering anna3@stanford.edu
Daniel Swain Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science dlswain@stanford.edu
James Sweeney Director, Precourt Center, Professor of Management Science & Engineering, Senior Fellow at Precourt Center and at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research and, by courtesy, at the Hoover Institution

Determinants of energy efficiency opportunities, barriers, and policy options. Emphasis on behavioral issues, including personal, corporate, or organizational. Behavior may be motivated by economic incentives, social, or cultural factors, or more generally, by a combination of these factors. Systems analysis questions of energy use.

Yang & Yamazaki Environment & Energy Building
(650) 723-2847
jim.sweeney@stanford.edu
Jim Francis, Jr Sweeney Faculty - Affiliated

Economic and environmental effects of environmental policies; Implications of environmental policy for technological innovation.

jamess1@stanford.edu
Aunika Lynn Swenson Students - Undergraduate aunikas@stanford.edu
Paul Switzer Professor of Statistics and of Environmental Earth System Science, Emeritus Sequoia 226
(650) 723-2879
switzer@stanford.edu
Leon Szeptycki Professor of the Practice, Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment

Leon is an attorney who specializes in water quality, water use and watershed restoration. His work includes issues related to stream flow restoration in the context of the western appropriative rights system and increasing human demands on water.

leonsz@stanford.edu