Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
Name Title Current Research Contact
Benjamin Roger Laboy Students - Graduate
Michelle LaComb Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences mlacomb@stanford.edu
Eric Lambin George and Setsuko Ishiyama Provostial Professor and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

My research is in the area of human-environment interactions in land systems. I develop integrated approaches to study land use change by linking remote sensing, GIS and socio-economic data. I aim at better understanding causes and impacts of changes in tropical forests, drylands, and farming systems.

Y2E2 371
elambin@stanford.edu
Carolyn Lampe University Staff other teaching Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences - Geological and Environmental Sciences Consulting Professor c.lampe@ucon4d.com
Kai Lanz Network Specialist, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Administration/Finance MITCHELL A76
(650) 723-3400
lanz@stanford.edu
Alexandre Lapene Faculty - Affiliated lapene@stanford.edu
Diane Lau SEP Administrator, Department of Geophysics - Geophysics Department of Geophysics
(650) 723-1703
diane@sep.stanford.edu
Kimberly Lau Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences

I am interested in using a combination of isotope geochemistry and numerical modeling to understand major changes to the Earth's oceans during critical events. I am particularly interested in ocean anoxic and acidification events in the Earth's past, including their causes and potential effects on the fossil record. I study these processes in the context of understanding major perturbations to the global carbon cycle and Earth's biota.

Geocorner Maze
kvlau@stanford.edu
Jesse Lawrence Assistant Professor of Geophysics jfl77@stanford.edu
Yann le Polain de Waroux Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science lepolain@stanford.edu
Huy Quang Le University Student Department of Geophysics Graduate huyle@stanford.edu
Christopher Leader Ph.D. Student in Geophysics cleader@stanford.edu
Anna Sabrina Lee Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Anna's research interests are in knowledge networks and information sharing in farming communities.

aslee07@stanford.edu
Jaehoon Lee Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jaehoonl@stanford.edu
Jessica Audrey Lee Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science jalee24@stanford.edu
Kyoungjin Lee Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Metallic membranes for energy and environmental application
CO2 capture and storage (CCS)
Hydrogen (H2) production and utilization
Metal-hydrogen or metal-nitrogen interaction
Thin-metal composite fabrication
Material characterization (SEM, XRD, XPS)
Plane-wave density functional theory (DFT)

kjlee99@stanford.edu
Nadine Lehner Joint MS-MBA student (415) 229-9334
nlehner@stanford.edu
Sverre LeRoy Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science Reconstructing Holocene climate in Patagonia with lake sediments and isotopes. sleroy@stanford.edu
Dr. Stewart A. Levin University Staff other teaching Department of Geophysics - Geophysics Assoc Prof-Consulting Rm 307
hbl3973@stanford.edu
Raymond Levitt Kumagai Professor in the School of Engineering and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

Dr. Levitt founded and directs Stanford’s Global Projects Center (GPC), which conducts research, education and outreach aimed at delivering more sustainable global building and infrastructure projects. GPC's recent research focuses on developing more sustainable approaches for the financing and governance of infrastructure projects procured via the Private Partnerships (PPP or P3) delivery approach, and financed by institutional investors like pension funds and sovereign wealth funds.

Yang & Yamazaki Environment and Energy Buiding
Ray.Levitt@stanford.edu
Karine Levonyan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering levonyan@stanford.edu
Kate Marie Lewis University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate kmlewis@stanford.edu
Staci Ann Lewis Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Staci is interested in the ecological and economic impacts of climate change on coral reef ecosystem services. She plans to examine the physiological mechanisms behind thermal resilience of coral colonies and to develop economic valuations of climate change resilience.

slewis13@stanford.edu
Juan Lezama Pacheco Phys Sci Res Assoc, Earth System Science jlezama@stanford.edu
Boxiao Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering boxiaoli@alumni.stanford.edu
Dongzhuo Li Ph.D. Student in Geophysics 650-285-7548
lidongzh@stanford.edu
Guangchao Li EMF Technical Director 367 Panama st RM 329
(650) 724-3220
gcli@stanford.edu
Hangyu Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering lihangyupku@gmail.com
Kewen Li Sr Research Engineer, Energy Resources Engineering Dept. of ERE, Room 077A
(650) 723-5377
kewenli@stanford.edu
Lewis Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering lewisli@stanford.edu
Peipei Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering peipei@stanford.edu
Xiaowei Li Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences xwli@stanford.edu
Chao Liang Ph.D. Student in Geophysics chao2@stanford.edu
Qinzhuo Liao Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering Computational methods for dynamic prediction of subsurface flow and transport qliao@stanford.edu
Simona Liguori Phys Sci Res Assoc, Energy Resources Engineering
Yu Lin Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences lyforest@stanford.edu
Robert Lindblom Consulting Professor, Energy Resources Engineering Department of Petroleum Engineering
(650) 723-0680
rglgeo@aol.com
James Lindsay Joint MS-MBA student plindsay@stanford.edu
Juhn Liou Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

Petrochemical processes and tectonics of ultrahigh-pressure metamorphic terranes

MITCHELL EARTH SCI B-53
(650) 723-2716
jliou@stanford.edu
Brad Lipovsky Ph.D. Student in Geophysics lipovsky@stanford.edu
Jack Lissauer University Staff other teaching Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences - Geological and Environmental Sciences Consulting Professor jack.lissauer@nasa.gov
Mairi Litherland Ph.D. Student in Geophysics mairi@stanford.edu
Scott Littlefield Joint MS-MBA student slittlef@stanford.edu
Eric Liu University Staff Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering System Administrator ericliu8@stanford.edu
Owen Ruiya Liu Students - Graduate
Tianze Liu Ph.D. Student in Geophysics Mitchell 463
tianze@stanford.edu
Yimin Liu Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering yiminliu@stanford.edu
Yuwei Liu Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science yuweiliu@stanford.edu
Keith Loague Professor of Geological Sciences

Hydrology

Bldg 320, Rm. 223
(650) 723-3090
kloague@stanford.edu
David Lobell Associate Professor of Earth System Science and Senior Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute and the Woods Institute for the Environment

We study the interactions between food production, food security, and the environment using a range of modern tools.

dlobell@stanford.edu
Yvonne Lopez Administrative Associate, Department of Geological Sciences 450 Serra Mall
(650) 723-0848
ylopez@stanford.edu
Gabriel Charles Lotto Students - Graduate glotto@stanford.edu
Donald Lowe Max Steineke Professor in Earth Sciences

Classic sedimentology, deep-water sedimentation mechanics and facies; Archean depositional systems and crustal development

BLDG 320, Rm. 216
(650) 723-0847, (650) 725-3040
donald.lowe@stanford.edu
Ella Renee Lowry University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Undergraduate elowry@stanford.edu
Kate E. Lowry Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science (650) 736-0688
lowryk@stanford.edu
Julian Lozos Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics

I use computer modeling to investigate how complexity of fault geometry, stress state, and frictional properties affect the physics of earthquake rupture and ground motion generation. I am particularly interested in how rupture negotiates junctions and discontinuities between faults, as well as in whether faults that exhibit aseismic creep can rupture coseismically. My current work is focused on examples in the San Andreas fault system in California.

jlozos@stanford.edu
Chun-Yaung Lu (Albert) Basic Life Science Research Associate, Energy Resources Engineering
Shaoyu Lu Masters Student in Computational and Mathematical Engineering shaoyu88@stanford.edu
Stephen Luby Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute and the Freeman Spogli Institute

Dr. Luby’s research interests include identifying and interrupting pathways of infectious disease transmission in low income countries. He works primarily in Bangladesh.

Yang and Yamazaki Environment and Energy Building
(650) 723-4129
sluby@stanford.edu
Maxine Elinor Luckett University Student Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences Undergraduate luckett@stanford.edu
Alexander Gerhard Luisi Students - Graduate
Jens Lund Snee Incoming Department of Geophysics Graduate Student 7202898972
lundsnee@stanford.edu
Zhengwei Luo Joint MS-MBA student zluo2@stanford.edu
Richard Luthy Silas H. Palmer Professor of Civil Engineering and Senior Fellow, by courtesy, at the Woods Institute for the Environment

His area of teaching and research is environmental engineering and water quality with applications to water reuse, stormwater use, and systems-level analysis of our urban water challenges. His research addresses management of persistent organic contaminants and contaminants of emerging concern in natural systems that are engineered to improve water quality and protect the environment and human health.

Yang & Yamazaki Environment and Energy Bldg.
(650) 721-2615
luthy@stanford.edu
Ronald Lyon Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Emeritus Geological & Environmental Sciences Dept
lyon@stanford.edu