Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
Name Title Current Research Contact
Rob Jackson Michelle and Kevin Douglas Provostial Professor and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment and at the Precourt Institute for Energy

The Jackson lab examines the different ways that people affect the Earth. We seek to produce the building blocks of basic scientific knowledge and to use that knowledge to guide policy solutions for global warming, energy extraction, and other environmental issues.

Y2E2 Building, 379B
(650) 497-5841
rob.jackson@stanford.edu
Mark Jacobson Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy, and at the Woods Institute for the Environment

The main goal of Jacobson's research is to understand physical, chemical, and dynamical processes in the atmosphere better in order to solve atmospheric problems, such as global warming and urban air pollution, with improved scientific insight and more accurate predictive tools. He also evaluates the atmospheric and health effects of proposed energy- and transportation solutions to global warming and air pollution, maps renewable energy resources, and studies optimal methods of integrating renewable electricity into the grid.

Yang & Yamazaki Environment & Energy Building
(650) 723-6836
jacobson@stanford.edu
Meha Jain Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science mehajain@stanford.edu
Derik Enrique Jardine University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Undergraduate 208 409 5724
djardine@stanford.edu
Tessaly Tian Jen University Staff Graduate School of Education Casual - Non-Exempt
Adam Jew Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological and Environmental Sciences adamjew@stanford.edu
Peter Kristian Jewett University Staff Environmental Earth System Science Science and Engineering Associate jewett@stanford.edu
Renfeng Jiang Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Currently, my research focuses on the enhanced oil recovery using nano-particles and multiphase flow in porous media.

rfjiang@stanford.edu
Rui (Forest) Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My PhD research is about the analysis and application of TPWL (trajectory piecewise linearization) method in reservoir simulation. TPWL is one type of ROM (Reduced-Order Modeling) methods. My interest is about how to better control the TPWL method (how far the perturbation TPWL can handle), using mathematical perspective and computational experiments.

forestj@stanford.edu
Larry Zhaoyang Jin Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Reduce Order Modeling and It's Application in Carbon Sequestration and CO2-EOR zjin@stanford.edu
Lei Jin Ph.D. Student in Geophysics leijin@stanford.edu
Claresta Joe-Wong Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences joewongc@stanford.edu
Kathryn Johnson Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological and Environmental Sciences larsonk@stanford.edu
Samuel Johnstone Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences Investigating links between soil production and landscape form. samuelj@stanford.edu
Camille Jones University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate lcjones@stanford.edu
Liz Jones Joint MS-JD student elijones@stanford.edu
James Holland Jones Associate Professor of Anthropology and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

I am a biological anthropologist with research interests in human ecology, demography and life history theory, and the ecology and evolutionary biology of infectious disease.

Department of Anthropology
jhj1@stanford.edu
Morris Jones Postdoctoral Research fellow, Environmental Earth System Science mejones@stanford.edu
Robert E. Jones University Staff Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences - Geological and Environmental Sciences Science & Engineering Assoc robjones@stanford.edu
Adam Jost Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences abjost@stanford.edu
Andre Journel The Donald and Donald M. Steel Professor of Earth Sciences, Emeritus

Non-parametric, non-Gaussian Geostatistics, Stochastic Simulation, Training image-based simulation

GREEN EARTH SCI 339
(650) 723-8469
journel@stanford.edu
Hannah Louise Joy-Warren University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate hjoyw@stanford.edu
Ji-Eun Jung Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

* DFT calculations of trace metal uptake on mineral oxide nanoparticles emitted from coal combustion processes
* Relationship of particle size and chemistry to health effects
* Surface characterization experiments using SEM and XAS techniques

jejung@stanford.edu