Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
Name Title Current Research Contact
Benjamin Ha Administrative Associate

Provides administrative support for all aspects of the program.

473 Via Ortega
(650) 725-7005
benandrewha@stanford.edu
Ipek Pinar Hacikoylu University Student Department of Geophysics Graduate 397 Panama Mall Mitchell Bldg.
Elizabeth Hadly Paul S. and Billie Achilles Professor in Environmental Biology and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

The research of Elizabeth Hadly probes how perturbations such as climatic change influence the evolution and ecology of Neogene vertebrates.

GILBERT HALL
(650) 498-4995 ext. lab, (650) 725-2655
hadly@stanford.edu
Ian Joseph Hagmann Masters Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences ihagmann@stanford.edu
Batool Haider Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering batool@stanford.edu
Alex Hakso Ph.D. Student in Geophysics ahakso@stanford.edu
Francois Hamon Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Efficient nonlinear solvers for the simulation of multiphase flow in porous media

fhamon@stanford.edu
Yueru Hao Masters Student in Geophysics
John W Harbaugh Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences and of Energy Resources Engineering, Emeritus

Mathematical modeling of dynamic systems, sedimentary basin simulation, oil exploration risk analysis

Mitchell B 03
(650) 723-0847, (650) 723-3365
john.harbaugh@stanford.edu
Jerry Harris The Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Professor in Geophysics 397 Panama Mall
(650) 723-0496, (650) 723-5002
jerry.harris@stanford.edu
Michael Harris Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Michael hopes to identify how ecosystem services and environmental health indicators are affected by sanitation infrastructure in development scenarios as a way to push the focus beyond that of household-level sanitation.

mrharris@stanford.edu
Hossein Hashemi Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics Mitchell Building (3rd Floor), Room: 367
(650) 723 3120
hashemih@stanford.edu
Matz Andreas Haugen University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate mahaugen@stanford.edu
Alexandra Marie Hausladen Students - Graduate
Debra Michelle Hausladen University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate dhauslad@stanford.edu
Thomas Hayden Lecturer, Earth System Science Yang and Yamazaki Environment and Energy Bldg (Y2E2)
(650) 721-5722
thayden@stanford.edu
Jiajun He Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jiajunhe@stanford.edu
Yiyuan He Students - Graduate
Dulcie Aileen Head University Student Department of Geophysics Graduate dulcieh@stanford.edu
Robert Heilmayr Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Robert combines approaches from geography, economics and ecology to identify the proximate causes and underlying drivers of forest expansion in Chile.

heilmayr@stanford.edu
Noel Heim Basic Life Science Research Associate, Geological Sciences Department of Geological & Environmental Sciences
(650) 721-2131
naheim@sedpaleo.org
Peter Hill Hennings Consulting Professor

Research interests: reservoir geomechanics, characterization and hydraulic modeling of fractured and compartmentalized reservoirs, seismic interpretation methods, thrust belt kinematics, geology of the Laramide Rockies.  Stuff I teach: Introduction to Petroleum Systems: Sources, Reservoirs, Traps, and Basins of the Laramide Rockies (ConocoPhillips, AAPG, U WY); Geological Mechanics Field Seminar, Wyoming (ConocoPhillips, AAPG); Compressional Structures Field Seminar, Montana (Nautilus Inc); Structural Interpretation Fundamentals Workshop (GSA, U WY, U TX); 3D Architecture of Thrust Closures, Kananaskis, Alberta (AAPG)

ConocoPhillips Technology and Projects 600 North Dairy Ashford, Houston, TX 77079
281-293-6711
Darcy Heppenstall Associate Dean for External Relations, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Development/External Relations (650) 498-0613
darcyh@stanford.edu
Eli Moises Hernandez Diazgiron Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences
Laura Hess Ph.D. Student in Environmental Earth System Science lhess@stanford.edu
Thomas Hewett Professor of Energy Resources Engineering, Emeritus (650) 723-9476
HEWETT@PANGEA.stanford.edu
George Hilley Associate Professor of Geological Sciences

Active tectonics, quantitative structural geology and geomorphology; Geographic Information Systems;unsaturated zone gas transport; landscape development;active deformation and mountain belt growth in central Asia, central Andes, and along the San Andreas Fault; integrated investigation of earthquake hazards.

Department of Geo. and Envi. Sci.
hilley@stanford.edu
Ferdinand Hingerl Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering hingerl@stanford.edu
Heidi Kathryn Hirsh University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate hkhirsh@stanford.edu
Carl Hoiland Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences hoiland@stanford.edu
Roni Holeton Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Administration/Finance Mitchell Earth Sciences Building
(650) 721-3383
roni@stanford.edu
Randall Holmes Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering rtholmes@stanford.edu
Ryan Mahony Holmes University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate rmholmes@stanford.edu
Thomas Holzer Consulting Professor, Geological Sciences

Currently developing a methodology for regional probabilistic mapping of earthquake-induced liquefaction hazard. Involves geotechnical characterization of surficial geologic units. Prototype maps have been published for the San Francisco Bay area, including predictions of the response of East Bay sandy fills for repeats of the 1868 Hayward and 1906 San Francisco earthquakes. Also pursuing the relation between world population and the frequency of earthquakes with extremely large death tolls.

(650) 329-5637
tholzer@stanford.edu
Roland Horne Thomas Davies Barrow Professor in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences and Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy

Well Testing, Optimisation and Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

098 Green Earth Sci
(650) 723-9595, (650) 725-9835
Roland.Horne@stanford.edu
Daniel Horton Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science

My research utilizes numerical climate modeling techniques in conjunction with observational records to study Earth’s climate system across multiple temporal scales in both the geologic past and the anthropogenic future. My interests are diverse and span the evolution of Earth’s climate system through geologic time, as well as the near-term climatic, societal, and health impacts of anthropogenic climate change.

danethan@stanford.edu
Yihe Huang Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics yihe@stanford.edu
Da Huo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dhuo@stanford.edu