Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
Name Title Current Research Contact
Deana Fabbro-Johnston Admin Services Manager, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Earth Systems Program Yang & Yamazaki Environment & Energy Bldg.
(650) 725-3183
deana@stanford.edu
Sepehr Fadaei Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering sfadaei@stanford.edu
Kurfay Fajardo University Staff School of Earth Sciences - Administration/Finance Sr. Administrative Associate Mitchell Building 101
kfajardo@stanford.edu
Sarah Fakhreddine Graduate Student, Department of Environmental Earth System Science sarahfak@stanford.edu
Walter Falcon Helen C. Farnsworth Professor of International Agricultural Policy, Emeritus

biotechnology; food security; food and agricultural policy in developing countries

ENCINA HALL, RM 404E
(650) 723-6367
wpfalcon@stanford.edu
Noha Farghal Ph.D. Student in Geophysics nfarghal@stanford.edu
Phil Farrell Information Technology Manager, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Administration/Finance School of Earth Sciences
(650) 723-9575
farrell@stanford.edu
Sara Forough Farshidi Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Mineral Trapping during Carbon Dioxide Sequestration in Saline Aquifers 16507256082
farshidi@stanford.edu
Emily Fay Ph.D. Student in Geophysics (650) 724-4322
emilyfay@stanford.edu
Pasha Gean Feinberg Students - Graduate
Scott Fendorf Huffington Family Professor in Earth Sciences and Senior Fellow, by courtesy, at the Woods Institute for the Environment

Soil and environmental biogeochemistry

Green Rm. 301
(650) 723-5238
fendorf@stanford.edu
James Ferguson University Faculty Anthropology Professor

His research has focused on southern Africa (especially Lesotho, Zambia, South Africa, and Namibia), and has engaged a broad range of theoretical and ethnographic issues. 

Dept. of Anthropology
jgfergus@stanford.edu
Alyssa J Ferree University Staff Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences - Geological and Environmental Sciences Student Services Manager Braun Hall
(650) 723-4835
aferree@stanford.edu
Chris Field Melvin and Joan Lane Professor for Interdisciplinary Environmental Studies, Professor of Earth System Science, Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy and at the Woods Institute for the Environment Global ecology, climate change impacts, global carbon cycle, ecosystem ecology Carnegie Institution
(650) 319-8024
cfield@ciw.edu
David Field University Staff School of Earth Sciences - Development/External Relations Development Associate Mitchell Building, #109
(650) 723-3766
dfield@stanford.edu
Robert Ganancial, Jr Firme Students - Undergraduate rfirme@stanford.edu
Mahnaz Firouzi Phys Sci Res Assoc, Energy Resources Engineering

Modeling of CO2 capture and storage; Molecular modeling of structure and transport of fluids in organic-based systems; adsorption isotherm; Characterization of coal, gas shale, and activated carbon; Fundamental study of transport and separation process of fluid mixtures in nanoporous membranes using molecular dynamics simulations.

367 Panama Street
mfirouzi@stanford.edu
Martin Fischer Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy and Professor, by courtesy, of Computer Science

Professor Fischer's research goals are to improve the productivity of project teams involved in designing, building, and operating facilities and to enhance the sustainability of the built environment. 

Stanford Univ. - Civ. & Env. Eng.
(650) 725-4649
fischer@stanford.edu
Nicholas Flanders Joint MS-MBA student (917) 349-3740
nhf@stanford.edu
Andrew Fleeter Joint MS-MBA student dfleeter@stanford.edu
Madeleine Flint Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science

My research brings together the disciplines of structural engineering, climate science, hydrology and environmental fluid mechanics to study the impact of climate change on infrastructure vulnerability with a focus on scour, which is the primary cause of highway bridge failure in the United States. Climate change is expected to increase the vulnerability of our built infrastructure to scour; this research will identify regions with greatest increased risk to prioritize infrastructure renewal.

Y2E2
flint@stanford.edu
Sean Arthur Foorman Students - Undergraduate
Lisa Forssell Joint MS-MBA student lisa@stanford.edu
Jenna Forsyth Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources jforsyth@stanford.edu
Julia Bova Foster Students - Undergraduate juliabf@stanford.edu
Christopher Francis Associate Professor of Earth System Science and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

Microbial cycling of carbon, nitrogen, and metals in the environment; molecular geomicrobiology; marine microbiology; microbial diversity

Dept. of Environmental Earth System Science
caf@stanford.edu
Emily Jane Francis University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate efrancis@stanford.edu
Zephyr Frank University Faculty History Department Assoc Professor

My research interests include wealth and inequality, Brazilian social history, Latin American economic history, and spatial history.

BLDG. 200
zfrank@stanford.edu
Antony Fraser-Smith Professor (Research) of Electrical Engineering and of Geophysics, Emeritus PACKARD BLDG. #358
(650) 723-3684
acfs@stanford.edu
Patrick Tyler Freeman University Student School of Earth Sciences - Earth Systems Program Graduate freeman1@stanford.edu
Susan French Executive Assistant, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Administration/Finance Mitchell Earth Sciences
(650) 725-1802
sfrench@stanford.edu
David Freyberg Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

A hydrologist and water resources specialist, Freyberg studies reservoir sedimentation and hydrology, hydrologic ecosystem services, summer drying of Pacific coast intermittent streams, tropical rainfall and throughfall, surface water-ground water interactions, especially in reservoir/sediment systems, and scaling and spatial distribution of recycled water systems.

Jerry Yang & Akiko Yamazaki Environment & Energy Bldg.
(650) 723-3234
freyberg@stanford.edu
Oliver Fringer Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Fringer's research focuses on the development and application of numerical models and high-performance computational techniques to the study of fundamental processes that influence the dynamics of the coastal ocean, rivers, lakes, and estuaries.

(650) 450-1137
fringer@stanford.edu
Tadashi Fukami Assistant Professor, Biology

Ecological and evolutionary community assembly, with emphasis on historical contingency in community structure, ecosystem functioning, biological invasion and ecological restoration, using experimental, theoretical and comparative methods involving bacteria, protists, fungi, plants and animals.

Department of Biology
(650) 721-1711
fukamit@stanford.edu