Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
Name Title Current Research Contact
Aviv Bachan Dovrat Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geological Sciences avivbd@stanford.edu
Charles R. Bacon Faculty - Affiliated
Curtis William Baden University Student Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences Graduate cbaden@stanford.edu
Grayson McClure Badgley Students - Graduate gbadgley@stanford.edu
Whitney Bagge Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Whitney's research interests focus on the intersection of ecology and human health, investigating how human use and interaction with the environment affect human infection with emerging and re-emerging vector-borne and zoonotic diseases.

wbagge@stanford.edu
Praveen Bains Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering pbains@stanford.edu
Amy L Balsom Senior Associate Dean, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences - Administration/Finance 101 MITCHELL BUILDING
(650) 723-9365
amy.balsom@stanford.edu
Shilajeet (Banny) Banerjee University Academic staff H-STAR operation Sr. Res Engineer

I develop and study radically new ways for design thinking to bring about rapid change and meaningful impact to address the society’s bigger challenges, including environmentally conscious design, design semiotics, ambient media, human-centered design, and other design methodologies.

banny@stanford.edu
Amy Banta Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science banta@stanford.edu
Ohad Barak Ph.D. Student in Geophysics ohadb@stanford.edu
Shahar Barak Ph.D. Student in Geophysics 397 Panama Mall
shaharb@stanford.edu
Andres Baresch Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences abaresch@stanford.edu
Stephen R. Barley Weiland Professor in the School of Engineering and Professor, by courtesy, of Education

Technology's role in occupational and organizational change. Science and innovation in industrial settings. Organizational and occupational culture. Corporate power. Social network theory. Macro-organizational behavior.

Jen-Hsun Huang Engineering Center
(650) 723-9477
sbarley@stanford.edu
Jeffrey Barnes Joint MS-MBA student jrbarnes@stanford.edu
Parker Barnes Joint MS-MBA student parkerb@stanford.edu
William Barnett Thomas M. Siebel Professor in Business Leadership, Strategy, & Organizations

I study competition among organizations and how organizations and industries evolve over time, specifically how strategic differences and strategic change among organizations affect their growth, performance, and survival.

655 Knight Way, room W238
william.barnett@stanford.edu
Guillaume Barnier Ph.D. Student in Geophysics gbarnier@stanford.edu
Claudia Baroni Sponsored Project Administrator, Department of Geophysics - Geophysics (650) 723-5002
cbaroni@stanford.edu
Sarah Barrett Ph.D. Student in Geophysics sabarret@stanford.edu
Brooks Barron Joint MS-MBA student brooksb@stanford.edu
Michele Barry, MD, FACP Professor of Medicine (General Medical Discipline), Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment and Professor, by courtesy, of Operations, Information and Technology in the GSB and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Areas of research
Ethical Aspects of research conducted overseas
Clinical Tropical Diseases
Globalization's Impact upon Health Disparities

SoM Deans Office
michele.barry@stanford.edu
Diego Bartels Joint MS-MBA student dbartels@stanford.edu
Yasmin Bashirova University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Undergraduate yasminb@stanford.edu
Jesse Bateman University Student Department of Environmental Earth System Science Graduate (650) 721-1872
jbateman@stanford.edu
Malcolm Bean Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mbean@stanford.edu
Victoria Beasley Joint MS-MBA student vbeasley@stanford.edu
Kenneth Befus Lecturer, Geological Sciences
Ahmad Ali Behroozmand Postdoctoral Scholar 397 Panama Mall, Room 309
abehrooz@stanford.edu
Elinor Benami Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Elinor studies the factors which influence the adoption of environmentally-friendly land-use and energy technologies. Her work seeks to inform what policy interventions may help diffuse these technologies.

elinor@stanford.edu
Shelley Bench Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science sbench@stanford.edu
Sally Benson Director, Precourt Institute for Energy and Professor of Energy Resources Engineering and Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy

My research is focused on reducing the risks of climate change by developing energy supplies with low carbon emissions. Students and post-doctoral fellows in my research group work on carbon dioxide storage, energy systems analysis, and pathways for transitioning to a low-carbon energy system.

Yang and Yamazaki Environment and Energy Bldg.
(650) 725-0358
smbenson@stanford.edu
Thomas Benson Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences trb@stanford.edu
Adrian Bjorn Berg University Student Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences Undergraduate aberg@stanford.edu
Gregory Beroza Wayne Loel Professor

Earthquake seismology

Mitchell 355
(650) 723-4958
BEROZA@stanford.edu
Mark Tyler Bessen University Student English Undergraduate mbessen@stanford.edu
Sharad Bharadwaj Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering sbharad@stanford.edu
Sarah Billington The Milligan Family University Fellow in Undergraduate Education, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

My research focuses on sustainable, durable construction materials and their application to structures and construction.

billington@stanford.edu
Biondo Biondi Professor of Geophysics Mitchell Bldg. - Room 369
(650) 723-1319, (650) 723-1703
biondo@stanford.edu
Ettore Biondi Ph.D. student in Geophysics 359 Mitchell Building
ettore88@stanford.edu
Dennis Bird Professor of Geological Sciences

Theoretical geochemistry of reactions among aqueous solutions and minerals in magma-hydrothermal systems; environmental geochemistry of toxic metals in the Mother Lode Gold region, CA, and the emergence of life in the aftermath of the Moon-forming impact, ca. 4.4Ga.

(650) 723-1664
dbird@stanford.edu
Douglas W Bird University Academic staff Anthropology Sr Res Scientist-Basic Ls

I am an ecological anthropologist with interests in how social and ecological factors influence natural resource use, and questions at the intersection of changes in livelihoods and landscapes. 

dwbird@stanford.edu
Rebecca Bird Associate Professor of Anthropology

My research focuses on two areas in the socioecology of subsistence: 1) patterns in individual decision-making; 2) the effects of aggregate decisions on habitat structure and how those decisions feed back over the long term to influence individual subsistence strategies.

450 Serra Mall--Bldg 50
rbird@stanford.edu
Suzanne Birner Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences skbirner@stanford.edu
Saurav Bista Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences sbista@stanford.edu
Alexander Blanchette Ph.D. Student Crustal Geophysics Group Mitchell 459
ablanch@stanford.edu
Daniel Burnett Blatter University Student Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering (ICME) Graduate dblatter@stanford.edu
Peter Michael Blisniuk University Staff Environmental Earth System Science Science and Engineering Associate Mitchell Earth Sciences Building
(650) 721-1992
blisniuk@stanford.edu
Barbara Block Charles and Elizabeth Prothro Professor in Marine Sciences and Senior Fellow, by courtesy, at the Woods Institute for the Environment Thermal physiology, open ocean predators, ecological physiology and tuna biology Pick up
(831) 655-6236, (831) 655-6237
bblock@stanford.edu
Laura Bloomfield MD Student, expected graduation Spring 2018

Laura studies how land-use changes facilitate interactions between people and wildlife affecting infectious disease emergence. She currently focuses on the spatial dispersion and transmission of zoonotic and vector-borne diseases along and between human and non-human primate networks.

labloom@stanford.edu
Chava Anna Bobb University Student Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences Graduate cabobb@stanford.edu
Adrien Boch Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering aboch@stanford.edu
Alexandria Boehm Clare Booth Luce Associate Professor and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

My primary research area is coastal water quality, and recently I have expanded my research to include activities on sanitation more broadly. 

Y2E2 Room 189
(650) 724-9128
aboehm@stanford.edu
Michael Bonomo Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences bonomo@stanford.edu
Alexandre Boucher Consulting Assistant Professor, Energy Resources Engineering (650) 498-4600
aboucher@stanford.edu
Noelle Christiane Boucquey Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science boucquey@stanford.edu
Pierre Boué Postdoctoral Research fellow, Geophysics pboue@stanford.edu
Kevin Boyce Associate Professor of Geological Sciences

Paleontology; Evolution of plant physiology & development; Geochemistry of fossil preservation; Evolution of terrestrial ecosystems and environments

(650) 725-5583
ckboyce@stanford.edu
Kristin Boye Postdoctoral Research fellow, Earth System Science

My research focuses on processes in the interface between soil and plant roots. I use a multiple method approach to determine the relative importance of biogeochemical mechanisms known to influence the mobility and plant uptake of contaminants and nutrients in agricultural soils. I work across different scales and combine advanced micro profiling and mapping techniques with bulk analyses. My current focus area is on arsenic mobilization in the paddy soil environment.

kboye@stanford.edu
Adam Brandt Assistant Professor of Energy Resources Engineering and Center Fellow, by courtesy, at the Precourt Institute for Energy

Greenhouse gas emissions, energy systems optimization, mathematical modeling of resource depletion, life cycle analysis

066 Green Earth Sciences Building
(650) 724-8251
abrandt@stanford.edu
Gregory Bratman Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Greg is working to define and study “psychological ecosystem services” by examining the impact of nature experience on human cognitive function and mental health.

gbratman@stanford.edu
Vanessa Bravo Student Services Manager, Department of Earth System Science 473 Via Ortega, Room 140
(650) 721-5723
vbravo@stanford.edu
Jared Fremont Brewer Students - Graduate
Philip Brodrick Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering brodrick@stanford.edu
Cassandra Brooks Ph.D. Student in Environment and Resources

Cassandra studies marine protection in the Antarctic, trying to better understand ocean governance of our common pool resources on an international scale.

cbrooks1@stanford.edu
Christian Shimizu Brown University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Undergraduate csbrown@stanford.edu
Gordon Brown Dorrell William Kirby Professor of Geology in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences and Professor of Photon Science, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Surface and interface geochemistry; environmental fate of heavy metals; nanotechnology, applications of synchrotron radiation in geochemistry and mineralogy

GREEN EARTH SCI 309
(650) 723-9168
Gordon.Brown@stanford.edu
Jeremy Ambrose Brown Ph.D. Student in Geophysics jbrown27@stanford.edu
Zach West Brown Students - Graduate
Lucile Bruhat Ph.D. Candidate in Geophysics Mitchell 403
lbruhat@stanford.edu
Michelle Brunner Department Administrator - Geophysics Mitchell 3rd Floor Lobby
mbrunner@stanford.edu
Vladislav Bukshtynov Postdoctoral Research fellow, Energy Resources Engineering

Gradient-based optimization using Stanford Automatic Differentiation-based General Purpose Research Simulator (AD-GPRS)

bukshtu@stanford.edu
Marshall Burke Assistant Professor of Earth System Science and Center Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (650) 736-8571
mburke@stanford.edu
Kaitlyn Busler Joint MS-MBA student kbusler@stanford.edu
Raha Buzayene Administrative Associate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering buzayene@stanford.edu
Samuel Bydlon Ph.D. Student in Geophysics sbydlon@stanford.edu