Skip to content Skip to navigation

Honors & Awards

Chris Field and Mark Zoback among advisors tasked with designing human health, environment and safety programs following the 2010 Deepwater Horizon explosion

June 11, 2013

Geophysics professor to join 20-member commission responsible for investigating and researching earthquakes as well as recommending policies and programs to reduce earthquake risk.

June 5, 2013

In an invited publication, Gordon Brown and collaborator Georges Calas wrote about their lives and scientific work.

May 16, 2013

Earth Sciences professor and Carnegie staff scientist pioneered new methods employing satellite and airborne instruments to understand the response of ecosystems to land use and climate change.

May 1, 2013

The Stanford team will use the money to develop technologies that provide consumers with information about ene

Daniel Ibarra, a senior and double major in Geological and Environmental Sciences and Atmosphere/Energy Engineering, is the recipient of an American Geophysical Union scholarship established in 2010 by Stanford Earth Sciences alumnus David E. Lumley (PhD ' 95 Geophysics).

Professor George Thompson was awarded the Penrose Medal, from Geological Society of America. The Penrose is the hig

The annual lecture is named for William Smith, an English geologist credited with creating the first geological map of Britain. 

Annemaire Baltay (Geophysics) won first place in the Oral Presentation

Carolyn Snyder (IPER) won first

Lori McVay received the 2010 Marsh O'Neill Award honoring staff members who have made outstanding contributions

The Mineralogical Society of America Award recognizes outstanding published contributions to the science of mineralogy by relatively young individuals or individuals near the beginning of their professional careers.

The Switzer Fellowship Network consists of the 470 current and past Fellows located around the country and througho

The Woods Institute for the Environment awarded Environmental Venture Projects grants to four Stanford teams for in

Forty teaching assistants representing a wide range of disciplines, will be honored with Centennial Teaching Assistant Awards at a ceremony on June 16. The program recognizes and rewards outstanding teaching by teaching assistants in the Schools of Humanities and Sciences, Earth Sciences and Engineering.

TEN scholars and researchers from Stanford have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The president of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists announced the selection of Mark McClure and ERE Professor Roland Horne to receive SEG’s Best Paper in Geophysics Award for the technical paper entitled Investigation of injection-induced seismicity using a coupled fluid flow and rate/state friction model, published in Volume 76, No. 6, November-December 2011.

Kaushik Bandyopadhyay has been selected to receive an Outstanding Student Paper Award for his presentation at t

The award was presented on September 1, 2011, by the Institute of Soil Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Nineteen environmental researchers from across North America have been awarded Leopold Leadership Fellowships for 2

The Magne Espedal Professorship is awarded to an internationally recognized researcher within applied mathematics, computational science, mathematical modeling and/or energy research. Magne Espedal (1942-2010) was a prominent professor at the University of Bergen, and central in building what today is the group for Applied and Computational Mathematics at the Department of Mathematics.

Benson received the award at the 11th International Conference on Greenhouse Gas Technologies (GHGT11), the largest international CCS conference held every two years. The Greenman Award recognizes vital contributions towards progressing the CCS technologies and enhancing the international understanding of the process of mitigating greenhouse gas emissions.

Gretchen Daily, a professor of biology and senior fellow at Stanford's Woods Institute for the Environment, has