Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Important Information Regarding COVID-19

In light of the University’s newly released policy regarding COVID-19 -- recommending the community minimize social contact -- we encourage students to utilize virtual options when seeking support or information from the Earth Systems Program. Please contact staff via email or phone and we will be happy to assist! Latest information about the University's response to COVID-19 can be found here:

Miller-Marsden Prize for Innovative Research on the Environment

The Miller-Marsden Prize for Innovative Research on the Environment is named for two former faculty members in the Petroleum Engineering Department, (the late) Professor Frank Miller and (the late) Professor Sully Marsden.

The award carries a cash prize. Earth Systems students who have undertaken innovative research (internship, masters research, honors) on an environmental topic and who want to submit the written results of that work for prize consideration are invited to do so.

A call for nominations is sent out in early Spring quarter. A self-nomination package should include the research paper and a brief letter defending its "innovative" character. All candidates should be prepared to give an oral presentation on the results of their research, as the winner may be asked to do so.

Miller-Marsden Prize Recipients

  • Michael Burnett, 2018
  • Benjamin Bravo, 2017
  • Kira Minehart, 2016
  • Darien French-Owen, 2015
  • Claire Zabel, 2014
  • Elif Tasar, 2012
  • Nicholas Murray, 2011
  • Chris Fedor, 2010
  • Chris Hanson, 2010
  • Daniel Sol Karp, 2009
  • Katy Yan, 2008
  • Kendall Madden, 2007
  • John David Hardin Fedor, 2006