Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

Name Title Current Research Contact
Ayaka Abe Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
aabe@stanford.edu
Motaz Abu AlSaud motaz@stanford.edu
Mustafa Al Ibrahim Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering I am interested in statistical integration of data at different scales. (720) 468-3881
malibrah@stanford.edu
Jumanah Al Kubaisy Masters Student in Computational and Mathematical Engineering kubaisy@stanford.edu
Talal AlShafloot Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering talalss@stanford.edu
Abdullah Alakeely Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 334-7996
alakeeaa@stanford.edu
Ammar Alali Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I am interested in studying the multiphase flow simulation of matrix-fracture interaction in a capillary-dominated environments. The ultimate practical goal is to develop a numerical solver that can better predict the hydrocarbon recovery from fractured reservoirs.

(650) 723-1831
ammara@stanford.edu
Nooreddeen Albokhari Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Salem Aldousary Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering salems1@stanford.edu
Hamza Aljamaan aljamaan@stanford.edu
Muhammad Almajid Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering majimm0a@stanford.edu
Usua Amanam Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Fuel optimization; Thermal induced nanoparticle delivery

uamanam@stanford.edu
Anatoly Aseev University Student Department of Geological Sciences Graduate (650) 723-1831
aaseev@stanford.edu
Noah Athens Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences nathens@stanford.edu
Folasade Ayoola Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Prediction of CO2 Migration by Inverse Modeling of CO2 Pressure Measurements (650) 723-1831
fayoola@stanford.edu
Ejeong Baik Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering ebaik@stanford.edu
Praveen Bains Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Joseph Bakarji Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jbakarji@stanford.edu
Alexander Bakay Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
Yasmin Bashirova Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering yasminb@stanford.edu
Malcolm Bean Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Dimitrios Ioannis Belivanis Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dbelivan@stanford.edu
Sebastian Bosma Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering sbosma@stanford.edu
Christian Brown Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering csbrown@stanford.edu
Austin Bushree Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering abushree@stanford.edu
Grace Michele Busse Undergraduate, Chemistry gbusse@stanford.edu
Emmet Caulfield Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 725-0849
Carla Kathryn Co Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Michael Connolly Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Matthias Cremon Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Jacques de Chalendar Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Integrated Energy Systems jdechale@stanford.edu
Amir Hossein Delgoshaie Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I study models for flow in porous media. In particular, I am interested in the class of nonlocal models and stochastic models, which I believe are relevant for simplifying the workflow for reservoir simulation. The fact that these models can also be used in multiple scales makes them an even better candidate for modeling subsurface flow.

amirdel@stanford.edu
Nutchapol Dendumrongsup Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering nden@stanford.edu
Geetartha Dutta Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My research is on the value of information (VOI) of time-lapse seismic data in the context of making reservoir development decisions, and it is inter-disciplinary in nature, integrating decision analysis, reservoir engineering, geostatistics and rock physics. I think it is important to bridge the gap between these different fields to attain optimum reservoir development and management.

gdutta@stanford.edu
Youssef Ekady Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yelkady@stanford.edu
Jacob Englander Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Soheil Esmaeilzadeh Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering 6507046673
soes@stanford.edu
Cedric Fraces Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering GESB 355
6504551248
fracescedric@gmail.com
Laura Froute Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering lfroute@stanford.edu
Olga Fuks Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My PhD research lies in the area of stochastic analysis of subsurface flow and study of stochastic PDEs. Specifically, I am working on the development of accurate and fast methods for uncertainty propagation and risk assessment of two-phase flow for complex geological models.

ofuks@stanford.edu
Xuhua Gao Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering xuhuag@stanford.edu
Ognjen Grujic Postdoc Res Affiliate, Caers Program ognjen.grujic@stanford.edu
Kelly Guan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Halldora Gudmundsdottir Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering halldora@stanford.edu
Haoli Guo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering haoliguo@stanford.edu
Jason Hu Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering jhu7@stanford.edu
Renfeng Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Currently, my research focuses on the enhanced oil recovery using nano-particles and multiphase flow in porous media.

rfjiang@stanford.edu
Rui (Forest) Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My PhD research is about the analysis and development of Reduced-Order Modeling methods (ROM).
Previously, I did analysis and application of TPWL (trajectory piecewise linearization, one type of ROM methods) method in reservoir simulation. I was using mathematical perspective and computational experiments to improve this method.
Lately, there is a shift towards another type of ROM method, POD-DEIM method.

forestj@stanford.edu
Su Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering sujiang@stanford.edu
Larry Zhaoyang Jin Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Reduce Order Modeling and It's Application in Carbon Sequestration and CO2-EOR zjin@stanford.edu
Ouassim Khebzegga Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ouassimk@stanford.edu
Yong Do Kim Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Johnstone Kipyator Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Sergey Klevtsov Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I'm working on linear solver framework in Stanford's reservoir simulator (AD-GPRS). More broadly, I'm interested in efficient solution/preconditioning strategies and parallel algorithms in subsurface flow modeling.

klevtsov@stanford.edu
Kuy Hun Koh Yoo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering kohykh@stanford.edu
Filippos Kostakis Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
filippk@stanford.edu
Karine Levonyan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Jiawei Li Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
jiaweili@stanford.edu
Lewis Li Research Asst - Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering lewisli@alumni.stanford.edu
Peipei Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering peipei@stanford.edu
Yaxin Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yaxinl@stanford.edu
Yimin Liu Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
David McColl Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering dmccoll@stanford.edu
JĂșlio Hoffimann Mendes Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I am studying the links between surface process dynamics and subsurface heterogeneity.

juliohm@stanford.edu
Manohar Mogadali Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering manoharm@stanford.edu
Riyad Muradov Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
rmuradov@stanford.edu
Negar Nazari Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering nazari@stanford.edu
Erik Nesvold Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 269-2131
nesvold@stanford.edu
Hailun Ni Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Geologic CO2 storage hni@stanford.edu
Olufolake Ogunbanwo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Esuru Okoroafor Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
ritaok@stanford.edu
Rachel Orsini Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering rmorsini@stanford.edu
Dante Orta Aleman Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering

His current research focuses in the use of machine-learning models for automatic interpretation of temperature profiles in Oil & Gas wells.

Austin Park Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Western Interconnection Data Analytics Project (WIDAP):
Austin uses various data analytics to analyze emissions data from the western interconnection. Recent findings suggest many coal and gas plants are no longer operating in the baseload generation paradigm for which they were designed. Austin is investigating how emissions are changing as a result, and how the thermal characteristics of power plants and policy environments affect different locales within the western interconnection.

(831) 227-3213
apark2@stanford.edu
Jihoon Park Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jhpark3@stanford.edu
Patrick Ryan Perrier Undergraduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering pperrier@stanford.edu
Ahinoam Pollack Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Optimization of Enhanced Geothermal Systems Under Uncertainity

Mitchell B51
ahinoamp@stanford.edu
Anshuman Pradhan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering pradhan1@stanford.edu
Farzaneh Rajabi Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering frajabi@stanford.edu
Ruslan Rin Research Asst - Graduate, SUPRI-B iskhakov@stanford.edu
Tita Ristanto Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
ristanto@stanford.edu
Grecia RO Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering greciaro@stanford.edu
Daniel Roda-Stuart Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering drodastu@stanford.edu
Jeffrey Rutherford Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jruthe@stanford.edu
Ankush Singh Ph.D. Student in Geophysics ankushs@stanford.edu
Dong Song Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dhsong@stanford.edu
Wen Song Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My research interests involve developing and using microfluidic platforms to visualize pore-scale flow phenomena relevant to reservoir engineering. Currently, I am conducting experiments to study directly the pore-scale dynamics in (1) low salinity waterflooding for enhanced oil recovery and (2) reactive transport through carbonate formations.

wensong@stanford.edu
Sindhu Sreedhara Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Ruixiao Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Wenyue Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering wenyue@stanford.edu
Yuchi Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My main focus is on prediction of short-term solar irradiation based on statistical learning and computer vision. Improved prediction accuracy is beneficial for both the grid operators to balance the grid, and the utility to bid for short-term market. Other interest include carbon storage and sequestration,energy systems optimization, and greenhouse gas mitigation.

yuchi@stanford.edu
Haoyu Tang Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
hytang@stanford.edu
Meng Tang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mengtang@stanford.edu
Holger Teichgraeber Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 725-0851
hteich@stanford.edu
Srinikaeth Thirugnana Sambandam Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
nikaeth@stanford.edu
Chuan Tian Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering chuant@stanford.edu
Daniel Ullmann de Brito Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dubrito@stanford.edu
. Vignesh Venugopal Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
vvignesh@stanford.edu
Gregory Von Wald Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering gvonwald@stanford.edu
Beibei Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering GESB 121
beibeiw@stanford.edu
Jingfan Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jingfan@stanford.edu
Ziyan Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 305-8180
ziyanw@stanford.edu
Ross Weber Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering rweber3@stanford.edu
Zhi Yang Wong Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering zhiyangw@stanford.edu
Guang Yang Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Hyung Jun Yang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
hjyang3@stanford.edu
Jie Yang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Tianrui Ye Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering trye@stanford.edu
Timothy Yeo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering timyeo@stanford.edu
Mehrdad Yousefzadeh Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mehrdady@stanford.edu
Mengyao Yuan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Wonjin Yun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Chemical engineering, Enhance Oil Recovery, Image Processing, CFD simulation
Christopher Zahasky Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Understanding risks to storage security of geologically sequestered CO2 GESB 357
zahas002@gmail.com
Markus Zechner Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mzechner@stanford.edu
Yuran Zhang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yuranz4@stanford.edu
Zitong Zhou Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ztzhou@stanford.edu