Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

Name Title Current Research Contact
Ayaka Abe Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
aabe@stanford.edu
Motaz Omar Abu AlSaud Affiliate, SUPRI-B
Mustafa Al Ibrahim Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering I am interested in statistical integration of data at different scales. (720) 468-3881
malibrah@stanford.edu
Jumanah Al Kubaisy Masters Student in Computational and Mathematical Engineering kubaisy@stanford.edu
Talal AlShafloot Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering talalss@stanford.edu
Abdullah Alakeely Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 334-7996
alakeeaa@stanford.edu
Ammar Alali ammara@stanford.edu
Nooreddeen Albokhari Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Salem Aldousary Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering salems1@stanford.edu
Hamza Aljamaan
Mohammad Aljubran University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate aljubrmj@stanford.edu
Anirudh Allam Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering aallam@stanford.edu
Muhammad Almajid Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering majimm0a@stanford.edu
Usua Amanam Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Nanoparticle transport in porous media, catalytic thermal recovery uamanam@stanford.edu
Jaewoo An Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Coupling of geomechanics and reservoir simulation Green Earth Sciences Building, Rm 125, Stanford University
650-353-8071
jaewooan@stanford.edu
Anatoly Aseev University Student Department of Geological Sciences Graduate (650) 723-1831
aaseev@stanford.edu
Noah Athens Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences nathens@stanford.edu
Folasade Ayoola Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Prediction of CO2 Migration by Inverse Modeling of CO2 Pressure Measurements (650) 723-1831
fayoola@stanford.edu
Ejeong Baik Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ebaik@stanford.edu
Praveen Bains
Joseph Bakarji Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering I work on multiscale stochastic modeling of granular materials. I introduce randomness in deterministic equations to account for subscale physics and microstructural heterogeneity. The problem is tackled using various uncertainty quantification techniques such as Multilevel Monte Carlo, the PDF method and moments equations. Furthermore, I develop stochastic differential equations that address the chaotic nature of granular systems. jbakarji@stanford.edu
Alexander Bakay Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
Yasmin Bashirova Teaching Asst-Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering yasminb@alumni.stanford.edu
Malcolm Bean Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Dimitrios Ioannis Belivanis Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dbelivan@stanford.edu
Sebastian Bosma Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering sbosma@stanford.edu
Anthony Boukarim University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate boukarim@stanford.edu
Christian Brown Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Zachary (Zack) Burton Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences zburton@stanford.edu
Austin Bushree Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering abushree@stanford.edu
Grace Michele Busse Masters Student in Materials Science and Engineering gbusse@stanford.edu
Emmet Caulfield
Yulia Chen University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate
Tanvi Dhiren Chheda University Student Department of Geological Sciences Graduate tanvic@stanford.edu
Wei Chu University Student Department of Geophysics Graduate
Carla Kathryn Co Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Dylan Crain University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate cooper96@stanford.edu
Matthias Cremon Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My PhD project involves modeling and simulation of In-Situ Combustion (ISC) processes at the lab scale using an in-house general purpose reservoir simulator. The complexity of the physics and chemistry involved in ISC makes it highly challenging to accurately simulate, especially in a reasonable time frame. We hope to improve the general knowledge about the numerical simulation of ISC and mitigate some of its main issues through design, implementation and testing of new models.
Laura Dafov University Student Department of Geological Sciences Graduate ldafov@stanford.edu
Jacques de Chalendar Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Integrated Energy Systems jdechale@stanford.edu
Amir Hossein Delgoshaie Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering I study models for flow in porous media. In particular, I am interested in the class of nonlocal models and stochastic models, which I believe are relevant for simplifying the workflow for reservoir simulation. The fact that these models can also be used in multiple scales makes them an even better candidate for modeling subsurface flow. amirdel@stanford.edu
Nutchapol Dendumrongsup Masters Student in Computational and Mathematical Engineering nden@stanford.edu
Ricardo Deucher University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate rdeucher@stanford.edu
Yigao Du Graduate Visiting Researcher Student, Energy Resources Engineering Graduate Visiting Researcher ygdu@stanford.edu
Geetartha Dutta Research Asst - Graduate, SCRF gdutta@stanford.edu
Youssef Ekady Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yelkady@stanford.edu
Jacob Englander Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Soheil Esmaeilzadeh Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
soes@stanford.edu
Cedric Fraces Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering GESB 355
6504551248
fracescedric@gmail.com
Laura Froute Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My work focuses on implementing innovative imaging techniques to probe in-situ pore-scale structures and phenomena in source rocks. I am mobilizing a wide spectrum of conventional techniques (X-RayCT, pycnometry, MICP, N2 sorption, SEM, XRD, XRF) as well as developing laboratory-scale microfluidic setups and novel methodologies for porosity mapping and in-situ fluid transport monitoring by μX-Ray Fluorescence, MRI and TEM. lfroute@stanford.edu
Olga Fuks Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My PhD research lies in the area of stochastic analysis of subsurface flow and study of stochastic PDEs. Specifically, I am working on the development of accurate and fast methods for uncertainty propagation and risk assessment of two-phase flow for complex geological models. ofuks@stanford.edu
Xuhua Gao Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering xuhuag@stanford.edu
Ognjen Grujic Postdoc Res Affiliate, Caers Program ognjen.grujic@stanford.edu
Kelly Guan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Halldora Gudmundsdottir Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My PhD research focuses on developing predictive models for geothermal systems. I am interested in direct predictions of the future performance of geothermal reservoirs as well as characterization of the subsurface flow behavior that can aid in operational decision making. Currently, I am incorporating principles from statistics and artificial intelligence into workflows that can be used for production and injection optimization. halldora@stanford.edu
Haoli Guo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering haoliguo@stanford.edu
Rasim Hasanzade University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate rasim@stanford.edu
Catherine Hay University Student Civil and Environmental Engineering Graduate haycat@stanford.edu
Eleanor Miller Hennessy Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering emh@stanford.edu
Jason Hu Research Asst - Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering
Renfeng Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Currently, my research focuses on the enhanced oil recovery using nano-particles and multiphase flow in porous media. rfjiang@stanford.edu
Rui (Forest) Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My PhD research is about the analysis and development of Reduced-Order Modeling methods (ROM).
Previously, I did analysis and application of TPWL (trajectory piecewise linearization, one type of ROM methods) method in reservoir simulation. I was using mathematical perspective and computational experiments to improve this method.
Lately, there is a shift towards another type of ROM method, POD-DEIM method.
Su Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Data-Space Inversion for Well Control Optimization and Approximate Posterior Model Selection sujiang@stanford.edu
Larry Zhaoyang Jin Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Reduce Order Modeling and It's Application in Carbon Sequestration and CO2-EOR zjin@stanford.edu
Ouassim Khebzegga Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ouassimk@stanford.edu
Yong Do Kim Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Johnstone Kipyator Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Sergey Klevtsov Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My research interests include numerical linear algebra, multiscale methods, efficient linear solvers and preconditioners for subsurface flow and mechanics modeling, parallel and high-performance computing (HPC) and architectures.

I'm a contributor to the AD-GPRS and GEOSX projects.
klevtsov@stanford.edu
Kuy Hun Koh Yoo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering kohykh@stanford.edu
Filippos Kostakis Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Mutlifidelity strategies for uncertainty quantification, data assimilation and optimization in oil and gas reservoirs. (650) 723-1831
filippk@stanford.edu
Karine Levonyan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Jiawei Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
jiaweili@stanford.edu
Lewis Li Research Asst - Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering lewisli@alumni.stanford.edu
Peipei Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering peipei@stanford.edu
Yaxin Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yaxinl@stanford.edu
Yuanjun Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering - Application of Machine Learning Approaches for Multiwell Connectivity Analysis
- Smart Oilfield Technologies and Oilfield Optimization
Yunan Li Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering yunanli@stanford.edu
Constantin Paul Lindenmeyer Graduate Visiting Researcher Student, Energy Resources Engineering Graduate Visiting Researcher clr18@stanford.edu
Yimin Liu Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Wennan Long Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering wennan@stanford.edu
Hannah Lu University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate hannahlu@stanford.edu
David McColl Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering dmccoll@stanford.edu
Andrea Michelle Meislin Masters Student in Earth Systems ameislin@stanford.edu
Julio Hoffimann Mendes Research Asst - Graduate, SCRF juliohm@stanford.edu
Thomas Miller University Student Law School Graduate, Law tmm@stanford.edu
Manohar Mogadali Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering manoharm@stanford.edu
Riyad Muradov Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering My research is focused on quantitative interpretation of individual seismic traces and extraction of information relevant to recognition of various geological parasequences. The workflow proposed includes stochastic modeling of stratigraphic patterns involving thin sub-resolution beds, and subsequent application of statistical pattern recognition techniques to deduce those patterns from their respective acoustic responses. (650) 723-1831
rmuradov@stanford.edu
Gurinder Nagra University Student Department of Earth System Science Graduate gnagra@stanford.edu
Yusuf Nasir Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering nyusuf@stanford.edu
Negar Nazari Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering nazari@stanford.edu
Erik Nesvold Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 269-2131
nesvold@stanford.edu
Hailun Ni Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Geologic CO2 storage hni@stanford.edu
Yuhao Nie Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ynie@stanford.edu
Olufolake Ogunbanwo
Esuru Okoroafor Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
ritaok@stanford.edu
Rachel Orsini Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering rmorsini@stanford.edu
Dante Orta Aleman Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering His current research focuses in the use of machine-learning models for automatic interpretation of temperature profiles in Oil & Gas wells.
Alexander Christian Ortega Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering aortega2@stanford.edu
Kofi Owusu Agyeman Undergraduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering (650) 218-2444
kowusuag@stanford.edu
Austin Park Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Western Interconnection Data Analytics Project (WIDAP):
Austin uses various data analytics to analyze emissions data from the western interconnection. Recent findings suggest many coal and gas plants are no longer operating in the baseload generation paradigm for which they were designed. Austin is investigating how emissions are changing as a result, and how the thermal characteristics of power plants and policy environments affect different locales within the western interconnection.
(831) 227-3213
apark2@stanford.edu
Jihoon Park Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jhpark3@stanford.edu
Patrick Ryan Perrier Undergraduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Kyle Pietrzyk University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate Green IC016
pietrzyk@stanford.edu
Ahinoam Pollack Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Optimization of Enhanced Geothermal Systems Under Uncertainity Mitchell B51
ahinoamp@stanford.edu
Anshuman Pradhan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering pradhan1@stanford.edu
Farzaneh Rajabi Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering frajabi@stanford.edu
Ruslan Rin Research Asst - Graduate, SUPRI-B
Tita Ristanto Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ristanto@stanford.edu
Grecia RO Engineers Student, Energy Resources Engineering greciaro@stanford.edu
Daniel Roda-Stuart Research Asst - Graduate, Brandt Program
Jeffrey Rutherford Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering For his PhD research, Jeff is using bottom-up life cycle assessment (LCA) tools to evaluate the climate and energy intensity of energy projects. Specifically, using the Oil Production and Greenhouse-Gas Emissions Estimator (OPGEE, an open source LCA tool), Jeff is estimating the environmental impact of a sample of natural gas projects globally. Necessarily, this requires the rigorous quantification of life cycle energy consumption and fugitive emissions. jruthe@stanford.edu
Ankush Singh Ph.D. Student in Geophysics ankushs@stanford.edu
Dong Hee Song Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dhsong@stanford.edu
Wen Song Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My research interests involve developing and using microfluidic platforms to visualize pore-scale flow phenomena relevant to reservoir engineering. Currently, I am conducting experiments to study directly the pore-scale dynamics in (1) low salinity waterflooding for enhanced oil recovery and (2) reactive transport through carbonate formations. wensong@stanford.edu
Sindhu Sreedhara Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Rico Stormer University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate rstormer@stanford.edu
Ruixiao Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Wenyue Sun Affiliate, Smart Fields Industrial Affiliate
Yuchi Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My main focus is on prediction of short-term solar irradiation based on statistical learning and computer vision. Improved prediction accuracy is beneficial for both the grid operators to balance the grid, and the utility to bid for short-term market. Other interest include carbon storage and sequestration,energy systems optimization, and greenhouse gas mitigation. yuchi@stanford.edu
Aki Takahashi
Haoyu Tang Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 666-5598
hytang@stanford.edu
Meng Tang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mengtang@stanford.edu
Holger Teichgraeber Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 725-0851
hteich@stanford.edu
Srinikaeth Thirugnana Sambandam srinikaeth@gmail.com
Chuan Tian Research Asst - Graduate, Smart Fields Industrial Affiliate
Daniel Ullmann de Brito Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dubrito@stanford.edu
Clothilde Venereau Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering venereau@stanford.edu
. Vignesh Venugopal Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
vvignesh@stanford.edu
Gregory Von Wald Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Simulation and optimization of low-carbon energy systems gvonwald@stanford.edu
Beibei Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering GESB 121
beibeiw@stanford.edu
Jingfan Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Apply computer vision and deep learning to detect and quantify natural gas leak jingfan@stanford.edu
Yizheng Wang Ph.D. Student in Geological Sciences yizhengw@stanford.edu
Ziyan Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 305-8180
ziyanw@stanford.edu
Ross Weber Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Electrochemical Lithium-ion Battery Modeling rweber3@stanford.edu
Zhi Yang Wong Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering zhiyangw@stanford.edu
Kongphop Wongpattananukul University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate kongw@stanford.edu
Guang Yang Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Hyung Jun Yang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
hjyang3@stanford.edu
Jie Yang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Tianrui Ye Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering trye@stanford.edu
Timothy Yeo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering A numerical simulation of the fully coupled fluid flow and geomechanical deformation in fractured reservoirs. timyeo@stanford.edu
Mehrdad Yousefzadeh Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mehrdady@stanford.edu
Mengyao Yuan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Wonjin Yun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Chemical engineering, Enhance Oil Recovery, Image Processing, CFD simulation
Christopher Zahasky Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Energy Resources Engineering Understanding risks to storage security of geologically sequestered CO2 GESB 357
zahas002@gmail.com
Markus Zechner Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mzechner@stanford.edu
Yuran Zhang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yuranz4@stanford.edu
Zitong Zhou Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ztzhou@stanford.edu