Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

Name Title Current Research Contact
Ayaka Abe Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
aabe@stanford.edu
Jumanah Al Kubaisy Masters Student in Computational and Mathematical Engineering kubaisy@stanford.edu
Talal AlShafloot Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering talalss@stanford.edu
Abdullah Alakeely Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 334-7996
alakeeaa@stanford.edu
Salem Aldousary Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering salems1@stanford.edu
Mohammad Aljubran University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate aljubrmj@stanford.edu
Anirudh Allam Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering aallam@stanford.edu
Muhammad Almajid Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering majimm0a@stanford.edu
Usua Amanam Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Nanoparticle transport in porous media, catalytic thermal recovery uamanam@stanford.edu
Jaewoo An Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Coupling of geomechanics and reservoir simulation Green Earth Sciences Building, Rm 125, Stanford University
650-353-8071
jaewooan@stanford.edu
Anatoly Aseev University Student Department of Geological Sciences Graduate (650) 723-1831
aaseev@stanford.edu
Noah Athens Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences nathens@stanford.edu
Folasade Ayoola Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Prediction of CO2 Migration by Inverse Modeling of CO2 Pressure Measurements (650) 723-1831
fayoola@stanford.edu
Ejeong Baik Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ebaik@stanford.edu
Joseph Bakarji Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering I work on multiscale stochastic modeling of granular materials. I introduce randomness in deterministic equations to account for subscale physics and microstructural heterogeneity. The problem is tackled using various uncertainty quantification techniques such as Multilevel Monte Carlo, the PDF method and moments equations. Furthermore, I develop stochastic differential equations that address the chaotic nature of granular systems. jbakarji@stanford.edu
Alexander Bakay Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
Malcolm Bean Engineers Student, Energy Resources Engineering
Dimitrios Ioannis Belivanis Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dbelivan@stanford.edu
Sebastian Bosma Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering sbosma@stanford.edu
Anthony Bou Karim Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Performing stability analysis on acoustofluidics at the micro and nano scales using the energy perturbation method. Non-linear analysis is performed to understand the stability of specific solutions. Bifurcation parameters are identified and numerical techniques are used to complement the study and validate experimental data. Direct applications are acoustic waves in batteries to prohibit/delay the formation of dendrites on the anode/cathode implying a longer battery life. boukarim@stanford.edu
Christian Brown Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Zachary Burton Ph.D. Student in Geological and Environmental Sciences zburton@stanford.edu
Austin Bushree Research Asst - Graduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering abushree@stanford.edu
Grace Michele Busse Ph.D. Student in Materials Science and Engineering gbusse@stanford.edu
Yulia Chen University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate
Tanvi Dhiren Chheda University Student Department of Geological Sciences Graduate tanvic@stanford.edu
Wei Chu University Student Department of Geophysics Graduate
Dylan Crain University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate cooper96@stanford.edu
Matthias Cremon Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My PhD project involves modeling and simulation of In-Situ Combustion (ISC) processes at the lab scale using an in-house general purpose reservoir simulator. The complexity of the physics and chemistry involved in ISC makes it highly challenging to accurately simulate, especially in a reasonable time frame. We hope to improve the general knowledge about the numerical simulation of ISC and mitigate some of its main issues through design, implementation and testing of new models.
Laura Dafov University Student Department of Geological Sciences Graduate ldafov@stanford.edu
Jacques de Chalendar Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Integrated Energy Systems jdechale@stanford.edu
Nutchapol Dendumrongsup Masters Student in Computational and Mathematical Engineering nden@stanford.edu
Ricardo Deucher University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate rdeucher@stanford.edu
Yigao Du Graduate Visiting Researcher Student, Energy Resources Engineering Graduate Visiting Researcher ygdu@stanford.edu
Youssef Ekady Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yelkady@stanford.edu
Soheil Esmaeilzadeh Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
soes@stanford.edu
Cedric Fraces Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering GESB 355
6504551248
fracescedric@gmail.com
Laura Froute Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My research focuses on developing high-resolution imaging methodologies applicable to shale, using μCT, FIB-SEM, and STEM techniques at ambient and cryogenic temperatures. Multiscale datasets with structural, mineralogical and microfluidic information down to nanometer resolution will provide a better understanding of pore network morphology and connectivity, fluid-rock affinities, relevant scales for hydrocarbon transport, and displacement processes during production. lfroute@stanford.edu
Olga Fuks Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My PhD research lies in the area of stochastic analysis of subsurface flow and study of stochastic PDEs. Specifically, I am working on the development of accurate and fast methods for uncertainty propagation and risk assessment of two-phase flow for complex geological models. ofuks@stanford.edu
Xuhua Gao Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering xuhuag@stanford.edu
Mengyu Guan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Halldora Gudmundsdottir Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My PhD research focuses on developing predictive models for geothermal systems. I am interested in direct predictions of the future performance of geothermal reservoirs as well as characterization of the subsurface flow behavior that can aid in operational decision making. Currently, I am incorporating principles from statistics and artificial intelligence into workflows that can be used for production and injection optimization. halldora@stanford.edu
Haoli Guo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering haoliguo@stanford.edu
Rasim Hasanzade University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate rasim@stanford.edu
Catherine Hay University Student Civil and Environmental Engineering Graduate haycat@stanford.edu
Eleanor Miller Hennessy Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering emh@stanford.edu
Renfeng Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Currently, my research focuses on the enhanced oil recovery using nano-particles and multiphase flow in porous media. rfjiang@stanford.edu
Su Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Data-Space Inversion for Well Control Optimization and Approximate Posterior Model Selection sujiang@stanford.edu
Zhaoyang Jin Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Reduce Order Modeling and It's Application in Carbon Sequestration and CO2-EOR zjin@stanford.edu
Ouassim Khebzegga Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ouassimk@stanford.edu
Yong Do Kim Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Sergey Klevtsov Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My research interests include numerical linear algebra, multiscale methods, efficient linear solvers and preconditioners for subsurface flow and mechanics modeling, parallel and high-performance computing (HPC) and architectures.

I'm a contributor to the AD-GPRS and GEOSX projects.
klevtsov@stanford.edu
Filippos Kostakis Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Mutlifidelity strategies for uncertainty quantification, data assimilation and optimization in oil and gas reservoirs. (650) 723-1831
filippk@stanford.edu
Karine Levonyan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Jiawei Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
jiaweili@stanford.edu
Peipei Li
Yaxin Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yaxinl@stanford.edu
Yuanjun Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering - Application of Machine Learning Approaches for Multiwell Connectivity Analysis
- Smart Oilfield Technologies and Oilfield Optimization
- Time Series Data Analysis with Deep Learning
Yunan Li Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering yunanli@stanford.edu
Yimin Liu Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Wennan Long Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering wennan@stanford.edu
Hannah Lu University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate hannahlu@stanford.edu
David Thomas McColl Speech Tutor, School of Engineering - Technical Communications Program dmccoll@stanford.edu
Andrea Michelle Meislin Photo Lab Monitor, Art & Art History ameislin@stanford.edu
Thomas Miller University Student Law School Graduate, Law tmm@stanford.edu
Riyad Muradov Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My research is focused on quantitative interpretation of individual seismic traces and extraction of information relevant to recognition of various geological parasequences. The workflow proposed includes stochastic modeling of stratigraphic patterns involving thin sub-resolution beds, and subsequent application of statistical pattern recognition techniques to deduce those patterns from their respective acoustic responses. rmuradov@stanford.edu
Gurinder Nagra University Student Department of Earth System Science Graduate gnagra@stanford.edu
Yusuf Nasir Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering nyusuf@stanford.edu
Negar Nazari Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering nazari@stanford.edu
Erik Nesvold Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 269-2131
nesvold@stanford.edu
Hailun Ni Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Geologic CO2 storage hni@stanford.edu
Yuhao Nie Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ynie@stanford.edu
Esuru Okoroafor Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
ritaok@stanford.edu
Rachel Orsini Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering rmorsini@stanford.edu
Dante Orta Aleman Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering His current research focuses in the use of machine-learning models for automatic interpretation of temperature profiles in Oil & Gas wells.
Alexander Christian Ortega Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering aortega2@stanford.edu
Kofi Owusu Agyeman Su Student - Summer, H & S Programs kowusuag@stanford.edu
Austin Park Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Western Interconnection Data Analytics Project (WIDAP):
Austin uses various data analytics to analyze emissions data from the western interconnection. Recent findings suggest many coal and gas plants are no longer operating in the baseload generation paradigm for which they were designed. Austin is investigating how emissions are changing as a result, and how the thermal characteristics of power plants and policy environments affect different locales within the western interconnection.
(831) 227-3213
apark2@stanford.edu
Kyle Pietrzyk University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate Green IC016
pietrzyk@stanford.edu
Ahinoam Pollack Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Optimization of Enhanced Geothermal Systems Under Uncertainity Mitchell B51
ahinoamp@stanford.edu
Anshuman Pradhan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering pradhan1@stanford.edu
Farzaneh Rajabi Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering frajabi@stanford.edu
Tita Ristanto Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ristanto@stanford.edu
Grecia RO Engineers Student, Energy Resources Engineering greciaro@stanford.edu
Jeffrey Rutherford Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering For his PhD research, Jeff is using bottom-up life cycle assessment (LCA) tools to evaluate the climate and energy intensity of energy projects. Specifically, using the Oil Production and Greenhouse-Gas Emissions Estimator (OPGEE, an open source LCA tool), Jeff is estimating the environmental impact of a sample of natural gas projects globally. Necessarily, this requires the rigorous quantification of life cycle energy consumption and fugitive emissions. jruthe@stanford.edu
Ankush Singh Ph.D. Student in Geophysics ankushs@stanford.edu
Dong Song Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dhsong@stanford.edu
Sindhu Sreedhara Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Rico Stormer University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate rstormer@stanford.edu
Ruixiao Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Three-phase compositional simulator with gas injection for EOR
Wenyue Sun Affiliate, Smart Fields Industrial Affiliate
Yuchi Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering My main focus is on prediction of short-term solar irradiation based on statistical learning and computer vision. Improved prediction accuracy is beneficial for both the grid operators to balance the grid, and the utility to bid for short-term market. Other interest include carbon storage and sequestration,energy systems optimization, and greenhouse gas mitigation. yuchi@stanford.edu
Haoyu Tang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 666-5598
hytang@stanford.edu
Meng Tang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mengtang@stanford.edu
Holger Christian Philipp Teichgraeber Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 725-0851
hteich@stanford.edu
Daniel Ullmann de Brito Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dubrito@stanford.edu
Clothilde Marie Aline Venereau Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Optimization of decision-making in the context of CO2 storage monitoring. venereau@stanford.edu
. Vignesh Venugopal Research Asst - Graduate, Department of Earth System Science vvignesh@stanford.edu
Gregory Von Wald Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Simulation and optimization of low-carbon energy systems gvonwald@stanford.edu
Jingfan Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Apply computer vision and deep learning to detect and quantify natural gas leak jingfan@stanford.edu
Yizheng Wang Ph.D. Student in Geological Sciences yizhengw@stanford.edu
Ziyan Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 305-8180
ziyanw@stanford.edu
Ross Weber Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering I combine machine learning and physics-based modeling to develop algorithms for quantifying microstructural effects in Lithium-ion battery electrodes in computationally efficient ways. This can enable Battery Management Systems (BMS) to access real-time microscale information, which can allow for optimal battery control for improved safety and prolonged lifetime. rweber3@stanford.edu
Kongphop Wongpattananukul Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering kongw@stanford.edu
Hyung Jun Yang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
hjyang3@stanford.edu
Jie Yang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Tianrui Ye Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering trye@stanford.edu
Timothy Yeo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Numerical simulation of the fully coupled fluid flow and geomechanical deformation in fractured reservoirs using the method of augmented Lagrangian and discrete fracture model timyeo@stanford.edu
Mehrdad Yousefzadeh Eshkoori Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mehrdady@stanford.edu
Wonjin Yun Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Energy Resources Engineering Chemical engineering, Enhance Oil Recovery, Image Processing, CFD simulation
Christopher Zahasky Postdoc Res Affiliate, Benson Program GESB 357
zahas002@gmail.com
Markus Zechner Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mzechner@stanford.edu
Yuran Zhang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yuranz4@stanford.edu
Zitong Zhou Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ztzhou@stanford.edu