Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Departments & Programs



These stories offer a glimpse of the many ways in which faculty and students are addressing some of today's greatest challenges in the Earth and environmental sciences.

Sumeet Trehan is SPE Western North America 2015 Star Fellowship Recipient!
Submitted on Aug 3 2015

Sumeet Trahan Sumeet Trehan has been selected as a Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Star Fellow.  The Star Fellowship is awarded to eight students across North America pursuing degrees related to the oil and gas industry.

Tony Kovscek Named to the Beal Chair
Submitted on Jul 7 2015

Tony Kovscek Tony Kovscek has been appointed to the Keleen and Carlton Beal Professorship. This honor is much deserved--previous holders of the Beal Professorship are Lynn Orr and Hank Ramey.

Joanna Sun Receives Award
Submitted on Jun 18 2015

Joanna SunCongratulations to Joanna Sun who earned the 2015 Dean’s Award for Distinguished and Exemplary Service. The Dean’s Award for Distinguished and Exemplary Service recognizes outstanding contributions by individuals or teams to the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences during the past year that have gone “above and beyond” their regular assignments. Joanna was recognized for her work in creating richer and more focused orientation programs for graduate students as well as workshops. Congratulations, Joanna!

ERE Student Awards 2015 Announced
Submitted on Jun 8 2015


Awards are given out each year to ERE Students in three categories. The Henry J. Ramey, Jr. Fellowship Award recognizes the most prominent research student in the department. Frank G. Miller Fellowship Award recognizes the top student each quarter in course performance. It is awarded three times each year to a student selected on grade performance and research productivity from the preceding quarter. The William H. Brigham Memorial Award recognizes a student, or a staff member, who contributes their time generously to improve the lives of others. It is an award for department citizenship.

SPE Paper Contest Winners
Submitted on Apr 29 2015

SPE Hamza Aljamaan, Larry Jin, and Yasmin Bashirova are student paper contest winners at the recent Society of Petroleum Engineers’ Western Region Student Paper Contest held at University of Southern California, Garden Grove, CA

Research Review Awards Announced
Submitted on Apr 17 2015

ERE Research Review 2015 WinnersERE's Charles-François de Lannoy, Kyoungjin Lee, and Praveen Bains are recent winners at the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences (SE3) Research Review symposium held on April 10th. All three winners are members of Clean Energy Conversions Laboratory, directed by Professor Jen Wilcox.

Stanford renames Earth Sciences school to convey the breadth of its research and teaching
Submitted on Feb 11 2015

School of Earth, energy & Environmental SciencesThe new name – the Stanford School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences – reflects the school's focus on understanding the workings of the planet and helping address resource and environmental challenges facing the world.

Margot Gerritsen to receive 2014 Richard W. Lyman Award
Submitted on Jan 21 2015

Margot GerritsenThe award recognizes faculty who go above and beyond to engage alumni on campus, regionally and around the world.

Bob Lindblom on Twenty+ Years as a Pre-Major Advisor
Submitted on Jan 20 2015

Robert  LindblomRobert Lindblom has been a PMA for over 20 years, and he says “it has been a sincere pleasure and privilege to have worked with incoming freshmen on a variety of issues during this time.”

Stanford Professor Lynn Orr confirmed as head of DOE science and energy research
Submitted on Dec 5 2014

Lynn Orr
After a yearlong delay, the U.S. Senate has confirmed Lynn Orr as under secretary for science and energy in the U.S. Department of Energy.