Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Departments & Programs


Honors & Awards

Leif Thomas received the 2013 Nicholas P. Fofonoff Award from the American Meteorological Society
Submitted on

Leif Thomas awarded for groundbreaking work on the impact of strongly stratified ocean fronts on near surface ‘mixing’ forced by air-sea buoyancy and momentum exchange.

Steve Gorelick and Eric Lambin were among authors who received an AGU Editors Choice
Submitted on

The nature and causes of the global water crisis: Syndromes from a meta‐analysis of coupled human‐water studies, by Veena Srinivasan, Eric F Lambin, Steven M Gorelick, Barton H Thompson, and Scott Rozelle, published in Water Resources Research (2012), received the AGU Editor's Choice Award - presented at the Fall AGU meeting, December 10, 2013.

Chris Field was named to National Academy of Sciences advisory group for Gulf of Mexico program
Submitted on

Stanford professors Chris Field and Mark Zoback are among 24 advisors appointed by the National Academy of Sciences to design programs focused on human health, environmental protection and oil system safety for the Gulf of Mexico and U.S. Outer Continental Shelf.

Scott Fendorf received the 2013 Soil Science Research Award from the Soil Science Society of America.
Submitted on

Soil Science Society of America announces 2013 award recipients: The annual awards are presented for outstanding contributions to soil science through education, national and international service, and research.

2013 MacArthur Fellow: David Lobell wins MacArthur 'genius' award
Submitted on

David Lobell was honored with a MacArthur Fellowship for research on the impact of climate change on crop production and food security.

Steve Gorelick elected to National Academy of Engineering, one of 66 new members announced today. Election to the National
Submitted on

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to the "pioneering of new and developing technologies."

Page Chamberlain recipient of the 2012 Humboldt Research Award
Submitted on

Page Chamberlain elected as a recipients of the 2012 Humboldt Research Award. The Humboldt Research Award is the highest scientific honor of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and is  "granted in recognition of a researcher's entire achievements to date to academics whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and who are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements in the future."

Scott Fendorf receives Endowed Chair, Appointed Huffington Family Professor in Earth Sciences
Submitted on
Kevin Arrigo appointed Bass University Fellow in Undergradute Education
Submitted on

At a special event last week, Provost John Etchemendy and Harry J. Elam Jr., vice provost for undergraduate education, recognized six faculty members who were appointed Bass University Fellows in Undergraduate Education. The award recognizes extraordinary contributions to undergraduate education.

Kevin Arrigo, professor of environmental Earth system science and director of the Graduate Program in Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences, was named the Gerhard Casper University Fellow in Undergraduate Education.

Bala Rajaratnam recipient of the 2011 DARPA Young Faculty Award
Submitted on

EESS Assistant Professor, Bala Rajaratnam, receives the 2011 DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA) for his topic area in Mathematics. Title of effort: Rigorous Mathematical Foundations for Network Analysis